Pretty Page Keepers


My first two Corner Keeps modeled on my copy of
Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Anyone who knows me knows I’m an avid reader, and something that goes along with that is a love of bookmarks. The reason for this is that I am something of a “Book Nazi” (I was once described as that and it rather made me laugh!) who likes to keep books looking nice and not turn down the corner of a page to mark my place.

Over the years, I’ve used many things as page-keeps. As well as proper bookmarks, I’ve used bus, train and cinema tickets, and a great many scraps of paper rather than turn down a corner (seeing a turned-down page makes me hurt inside!), and now I have found a very pretty way of keeping my place in whatever book I’m reading, and the best part is that when I’m not using it, I can slip it onto a corner of the cover and it wont get lost!

So far I’ve made two of these pretty page keepers, so these first ones are quite plain, but I plan to experiment more and make a whole host of them so that I can always have one to hand. Perhaps I’ve even make ones to match different books to I can leave them in place permanently, ready for re-reading my old favourites…

~~~~~***~~~~~


Edited to add:
My mind wanders so much lately that I thought I had already mentioned where I got the idea in the first place! Anyway, in swift rectification (is that a real word?) here is the source of this very clever corner page keep: It Takes All Kinds

A big thank you to the blog author as I think this is an awesome idea. 🙂

10 responses to “Pretty Page Keepers

  1. Good idea Kel! I hate turning down the pages of my books too… I just have one proper bookmark, a silver ‘N’ but its hidden somewhere at home. Instead i’m generally leaving the book open or using my bank card hehe

  2. Those are cute. Where did you get the idea from?

  3. OMGs! I totally thought I had put in the source of the idea and I haven’t – so I’m off ot rectify that right now. I saw them on a blog:

    http://francineclouden.typepad.com/it_takes_all_kinds/2010/06/corner-bookmarks-an-use-your-scraps-tutorial.html

  4. so pretty! I’ve seen those type before, in cross stitch, too! Very practical. 🙂

  5. That is really cool! I like my magnetic ones though. They are little U shaped paper thingies with a magnet on each end that you put over the page…the magnets stick together through the pages. They stick pretty well so I don’t have to worry about them falling out. lol

  6. I really must add – I’ve been using these (and others I’ve made since then) non-stop since I made this post and they’ve never once fallen out of the book – not even when I’m carting it around in my bag. I LOVE my new bookmarks and I can make them to go with the book I’m reading, which is lovely. 🙂

  7. What kind of glue would you use though…I would be scared that something would damage my books. I don’t even like using post-it’s…

  8. I’ve made some with Pritt Stick (a stick glue – I don’t know what ones you have over the Pond) and others with double-sided sticky tape. Both have worked fine. You just have to make sure you’re careful with it. I’m pretty certain you could fix them together without using either if you figured some slots into the design instead though.

  9. I will admit that when I first saw the picture without reading the post I thought they were photo corners. lol

  10. You could TOTALLY use mini versions of these for just that purpose – how pretty would our photo albums look filled with those things. 🙂