Three ATCs for June

Design: From Illuminated Letters by Lesley Teare (WOXS)
“Letter N” Themed ATC for Cross Stitch ATCs FB Group
Stitched on white 18-count aida
Sent to Stephanie Slack, UK

I didn’t use the suggested colours for this ATC. Instead, I picked out some from my existing stash that I thought would look pretty together and I think it turned out pretty well. The backing paper is actually some wrapping paper that I had, with an abstract flower design on it in colours that went quite well with the stitching, and the corners were cut with a special paper punch to give a little added interest.

Design: FIFA 2010 ATC by Kell Smurthwaite, Kincavel Krosses
FIFA Themed ATC for Cross Stitch ATCs FB Group
Stitched on 25-count “potato” evenweave
Sent to Gowri Shanthikumar, Dubai

For this design, I went for simplicity – the South African flag, with “FIFA 2o10” in the lower-right corner and a football button. I used a green backing paper and cut it with pinking shears to give the spiky effect of grass behind the flag(you can just see the edges peaking out at the sides).

Design: From Donna Kooler’s 555 Fabulous Cross Stitch Patterns
“New Home” Themed ATC
Stitched on white 18-count aida
Sent to Liz Churchyard, Australia

Lizzie organises the ATC exchanges on the Cross Stitch ATCs FB Group every month, and does a great job just for the sheer joy of it. As she’s moving house, Laura Borst thought it would be a lovely idea if we all stitched “New Home” ATCs for her.

I didn’t use the suggested colours, instead choosing from my existing floss stash. I added “Where the heart is” under the little house myself, using two lazy daisy stitches for the heart. The backing paper is wrapping paper I had with a floral pattern in colours I thought went well with the stitched design, and I used the corner punch again. I then popped a few little crystals for some sparkle.

This design had loads of French knots, which I usually loathe doing, but on this occasion I didn’t mind and they came out quite neatly after all.

Comments are closed.