W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Douglas Jackson – Caligula (Rufus Book 1)*
See yesterday’s Teaser Tuesday for a brief taste of this exciting novel!

What did you recently finish reading?
James Long – Ferney Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
The £1 bargains are turning out to be wonderful lately! This one really intrigued me. The writing is compelling and the characters warm. It’s also rather eerie as the relationship between Gally and Ferney grows. Utterly spellbinding from start to finish, this is one of those novels that grabs hold of you and just won’t ever let you go. Throughout reading Ferney, I kept experiencing the strongest sense of deja vu, so much so that I almost became convinced I had read it before, although I know for certain I hadn’t. It really is a stunning book and since I finished it I’ve kept thinking and thinking about it!

F.E. Higgins – The Black Book of Secrets Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
One from the library and the first in the Tales from the Sinister City series. A really great start to the series. It’s dark, it’s sinister, and it’s populated by characters I cared about very quickly. I’m looking forward to getting hold of the rest of the series from the library as soon as possible!

Julia Golding – Cat O’ Nine Tails (Cat Royal 4) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
The Cat Royal series just keeps on delivering! Fast-paced action, heart-warming characters, perilous situations, and real causes written in a manner that doesn’t condescend to its younger audience. This time round, Cat is all at sea – literally! It also delivers a sensitive portrayal of Native Americans and the oppression they often suffered at the hands of white settlers.

Philip Pullman – The Tin Princess (Sally Lockhart 4) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This is the last book in the Sally Lockhart series, although it features Miss Lockhart (now Mrs Goldberg) very little. This is actually a good thing as Sally has always been a slightly unlikable character. Instead, this story focuses on Jim and another character we met way back in the beginning of the series (I won’t give it away). Throw in political unrest in a small European country and you have a very dangerous situation! It’s been a consistently good series, but I felt the end of this final installment left things hanging unsatisfactorily.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Kevin Crossley-Holland – The Seeing Stone (Arthur Trilogy 1)
This is another one I picked up from the library, so once I’ve finished Caligula I’ll read this one while I wait for my next book from the Transworld Book Group!

* This is my first of four choices as part of the
Transworld Book Group.

10 responses to “W… W… W… Wednesdays

  1. Ferney sounds awesome. i love books that stay with you.
    http://alaskanbookcafe.blogspot.com/

  2. Great reads! Haven’t read these yet – but I now have more things to add to my TBR list! 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/08/www-wednesdays.html

  3. Wow, nice list and very interesting books. Thanks for sharing.

    Aine
    House Millar – WWW Wednesdays

  4. I love the cover for Caligula, sort makes me want to travel back in time. 😉

    My Wednesday Entry @ For The Love of… Reading!

  5. Pingback: Julia Golding – Cat Royal Series | The Series Reader