Teaser Tuesday – Caligula by Douglas Jackson

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

He picked up a piece of dung that lay at his feet and held it up to Rufus’s face,

“See? It’s all about profit. It doesn’t matter whether it stinks like shit or smells of perfume – if it makes a profit it smells sweet.”

page 26, Caligula by Douglas Jackson

Synopsis:
Gaius Julius Caesar Augustus Germanicus, the third Roman Emperor, is better known by another name: Caligula, a name synonymous with decadence, cruelty and madness. His reign was marked by excess, huge building projects, the largest gladiatorial battles Rome was ever to see – men and animals killed in their hundreds – conspiracies, assassination attempts and sexual scandal.

Rufus as a young slave grows up far from the corruption of the imperial court. His master is a trainer of animals for the gladiatorial arena. Rufus discovers that he has a natural ability with animals, a talent for controlling and schooling them. It is at the arenas that Rufus meets his great friend Cupido, one of Rome’s greatest gladiators.

It is his growing reputation as an animal trainer and his friendship with Cupido that attracts the cruel gaze of the Emperor. Caligula wants a keeper for the imperial elephant and Rufus is bought from his master and taken to the imperial palace. Life here is dictated by Caligula’s ever shifting moods. Caligula is as generous as he is cruel, he is a megalomaniac who declares himself a living god and simultaneously lives in constant fear of the plots against his life. But his paranoia is not misplaced, intrigue permeates his court, and Rufus and Cupido find themselves unwittingly placed at the centre of a conspiracy to assassinate the Emperor.

What I think of it so far:
This is my first of four choices as part of the Transworld Book Group. I picked it up last night and started reading, Before I knew it, I’d read eight chapters. I adore historical novels, especially those set in ancient Rome, so this one is right up my street. It gripped me from the very start and I only put it down last night because I was so tired I almost dropped the book!


6 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Caligula by Douglas Jackson

  1. I bet this is a good book. Love the teaser.

    Here’s mine: http://50yearproject.wordpress.com/2011/08/09/teaser-tuesdays-aug-9/

  2. This sounds interesting, I love reading about Ancient Rome, actually I’m reading another book about it right now. Great teaser!Here is my TT.

  3. This totally sounds right up my alley, and I’m definitely putting this on my TBR list! Thanks for stopping by SunnyReads!! (Ancient Rome Rocks!)

  4. I don’t think my TBR pile will recover from the teasers this week! So many amazing books, so little time. Hope you will stop by and comment on my Clockwork Prince teaser on http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com !