Movie Mondays – Labyrinth


Every Monday I’ll post about a movie I’ve seen (whether  recently or some time ago), or a video I’ve shot myself (perhaps even more than one!). I hope you’ll all join in and post a comment with a link back to your own Movie Mondays posts.

One of my all-time favourite films is Labyrinth. Sure, it’s 24 years old and doesn’t feature any major action sequences and huge, explosive super-special effects, but there are many reasons why this film still rocks as hard as it did when it was first released. Here are just five of them…

1. It stars David Bowie as the Goblin King
You’ve got David Bowie. In skin-tight, well, tights, really (and sometimes PVC – cool!). And a big wig. And he sings. He’s just all kinds of awesome, really and the fact that he sings as well as putting in a fabulously eccentric performance that suits the character perfectly just adds to its awesomeness.

2. It has Jim Henson puppets
I grew up in the 80s, watching The Muppet Show and Sesame Street, so I always loved (and still do love) Jim Henson’s creations. Labyrinth features some of the best puppetry there has ever been, and the characters are brilliant. (the Fireys are still my favourites though!) Which brings me to number…

3. It features Brian Froud’s artwork
Have you seen Good Fairies / Bad Fairies? Or Lady Cottington’s Book of Pressed Fairies? If not, you should go and find copies of both IMMEDIATELY. Go on. Off you go. I’ve even provided links so you can find them easily. And you can browse the website of the artist too. Have you done that? OK, how gorgeous is Froud’s work? Enough said. (Incidentally, the baby, Toby, is Toby Froud – the artist’s son!)

4. The screenplay was written by Terry Jones
Yes, THAT Terry Jones. The one from Monty Python. That’s the one. Which means the script is witty and humourous as well as heartwarming and whimsical.

5. It has a fantastic soundtrack
You remind me of the babe (what babe?)
The babe with the power (what power?)
The power of voodoo (who do?) you do
(Do what?) Remind me of the babe!

It has quite the most wonderful soundtrack of any fantasy film EVER. Why? Because it’s David Bowie, that’s why! Did you really need to ask? Take a look below for a sample:

Are you a fellow fan of Labyrinth? What do YOU think makes it such a great film? Have you never seen it? Did you see it and hate it? I’d love to hear your comments…

3 responses to “Movie Mondays – Labyrinth

  1. Oh, i love this film. I am 32 years old and still dreaming with this Bowie Goblin King coming to take me! Lol Make me a offer, Jareth!

  2. Best movie ever. It’s simple enough for a child to understand and love, yet thought-provoking to keep the attention and love of adults. I will love Labyrinth and Bowie’s sparkliness until “the world falls down” (which is, incidentally, my favorite scene).