Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Want To Give As Gifts

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

My top ten books I want to give as gifts are…

… oh, come on! You didn’t really expect me to tell you which books I’ve got for people’s Xmas gifts, did you? What if they read my blog? That would just ruin the surprise! I always get books for everyone at Xmas as part of their gift from me.

So, how about I show you a list of books I’d like everyone who reads this to ask Santa to bring them for Xmas – think of it as my gift to readers everywhere.

  1. The Plucker / The Devil’s Rose / The Child Thief by Brom (aka Gerald Brom)
    All three of these books are nothing short of brilliant. Brom’s artwork is astounding – dark and beautiful to the extreme – and his writing skills live up to their promise. These are the books I recommend to people most often and I’ve not heard of anyone being disappointed yet. The first two are illustrated novels, the third is a full length novel (with some ink drawings) and a reworking of the Peter Pan legend that, in my opinion, outstrips the original!
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis
    Seriously, if you’ve never read these books, rectify that situation as soon as possible! They may be considered children’s books, but I heartily recommend them for readers of all ages – nobody is immune to their magic. I reread this series quite regularly (although I’ll admit to skipping A Horse and His Boy as I just don’t think it fits so well as the others).
  3. Room by Emma Donoghue
    I was actually given this book for Xmas last year and it is a stunning novel of incredible depth. Having the story told from the point of view of a small boy who has no experience of the outside world is a very clever device that plunges the reader into his situation, completely immersing one in his experiences.
  4. The Romans series by Simon Scarrow
    If you like historical fiction and find ancient Rome interesting, then this series is the one for you! Following the lives of Macro and Cato as they move up the ranks in the Roman legion and are sent all over the ancient world to restore order and complete missions that would defeat any others, this series is chock full of excitement and are meticulously researched for authenticity.
  5. The Logan McRae series by Stuart MacBride
    If crime drama is your thing, then this Scot-noir series will get your pulse racing! The author is actually quite local to me and I’ve met him on several occasions, so I can testify to him being so incredibly nice that it’s hard to imagine how such dark stuff comes from his head!  He’s another meticulous researcher, so you know that everything you read has been checked out and is true to life – perhaps scarily so! These are especially good if you know Aberdeen at all, because you’ll recognise all the locations, as well as some of the locals!
  6. Nation by Terry Pratchett
    I was going to offer up the entire Discworld series here (and if you’ve not read them, do so immediately!), but thought I’d flag up this little gem instead. It’s completely different from his other novels, yet still bears his trademark wit and unparalleled storytelling skills. It’s sure to stick in your mind long after you’ve turned the last page.
  7. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    If you decide on this one, please do consider getting hold of the version illustrated by Chris Riddell – it’s worth it! This may be a children’s/young adult novel, but it’s a great read for ANY age, and you may find you enjoy reading it to your kids for double the pleasure (I’ve already read parts of it to Xander, who is only three years old, when he’s brought it over to me, and he loves it!).
  8. The Princess Bride by William Golding
    Have you seen the film? It’s brilliant, isn’t it? The book is even better (although the film is an excellent adaptation) and has all the things you love about the film plus extra! If you loved the fact that Grandpa kept skipping bits, you’ll love that the book actually mentions doing the same and goes into some detail as to why. Don’t worry, it doesn’t hamper the flow – it adds to the experience. Everyone should own a copy of this book, so put it on your Xmas wish list immediately!
  9. Ferney by James Long
    Let me make this clear – I do NOT read romance novels. I don’t like them. I don’t like mushiness. So when I recommend a novel featuring a romance that spans centuries, you know there’s something unusual about it. Seriously, there’s an awesomeness about the relationship that reignites between Ferney and Gally time and time again and one gets caught up in the conundrum of their past and the futility of their future.
  10. The Nikki Heat series by Richard Castle
    Do you watch the show? Then you’ll be familiar with the combination of crime fighting / novel writing / and humour that characterises the partnership between Richard Castle and his muse, Detective Kate Beckett (the inspiration for Nikki Heat). You’ll also be aware that Richard Castle is, himself, a fictional character. That doesn’t stop these books from being great reads! If you’re a fan of the show, you’ll get a kick out of the in-jokes. If you’re not, you will still appreciate tight plotting and exciting writing. It’s a win-win situation, really!

So, there you have it, my top ten list of books you should all have on your Xmas wish lists. Go on, grab a pen and start writing to Santa. You never know, you might find one or two of them slipped into your stocking on Xmas morning!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Want To Give As Gifts

  1. I have not read the Chronicles of Narnia series! Don’t know why, it sounds so interesting..Maybe i need to get on that. Great list =)
    My top ten: http://synchronizedreading.blogspot.com/2011/12/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-i-want-to.html

  2. Great gift ideas. I liked Room too, and agree with your assessment of it. Haven’t heard of the Brom books but they sound amazing.

  3. narnia ❤

    and princess bride <3!!

  4. I always loved The Princess Bride (the movie) but I’ve never read the book and I have to confess that I would like to… So, I think that one in particular is a very great gift! 😉

  5. christieswriting

    Chronicle of Narnia… great pick. I still need to finish those hehe.

  6. The Princess Bride is a fantasic gift choice! I love both the book and the movie.

  7. I need to get Chronicles of Narnia for myself – I’m ashamed to admit I’ve never read them!
    I’ve never even heard of the The Princess Bride, I guess one only tends to think of Lord of the Flies when it comes to William Golding, so now I’m doubly ashamed!!

  8. Kelsey @ The Lost Book Reports

    great list! I was given Room for Christmas Last Year too!

  9. Definitely Princess Bride. Great movie; better book.

    Here’s my Top Ten Books I Want to Give as Gifts.

  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I still need to read the whole Chronicles of Narnia books, i only ever read The Magician’s Nephew and the Wardrobe.

  11. Room was such a surreal read! What a different way to view the world and the story.. from someone who doesn’t know anything more than the small room!

    Thanks for stopping by my Harry Potter Top 10!

    Michele | My (HP) Top 10

  12. Shockingly, I’ve only read The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe from your list. But I have heard a lot of great things about quite a few of these books. 🙂 It’s an excellent list that others should be happy to receive titles from for the holidays! Thank you for sharing and visiting!

  13. I really need to check out ROOM, I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about it! Wonderful top ten!

    Happy Reading!
    Nicole