Teaser Tuesdays – The Poison Garden by Sarah Singleton

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Smith clapped her hands to her cheeks, staring in disbelief. She took two, three deep breaths and stared at the dead woman lying on the bed. Then she stepped towards her again and fell to her knees.

– page 47, The Poison Garden by Sarah Singleton

Synopsis:
Thomas has inherited a magical box from his dead grandmother, which provides entry into a mysterious garden where her ghost warns him she was poisoned. For once she belonged to an arcane guild, whose members each cultivated a garden and mastered the arts of poison, perfume and medicine. The remaining guild members jostle for power as, one by one, they are murdered. Can Thomas solve the mystery before he in turn is threatened?

What I think of it so far:
I’ve not had much reading time yet due to all the festive pressures, so I’m only about a third of the way into this young adult novel. However, I am enjoying it immensely! I’ve previously read only one novel by this author (Century) and was impressed – this one promises to be just as compelling!

17 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – The Poison Garden by Sarah Singleton

  1. Oh good teaser and that cover is awesome. I like it.

  2. Very dramatic! Also I agree that the cover is awesome!

    Visit My Teaser Tuesday!

  3. I can’t say I’d respond well to finding a dead person, either…o_O

  4. Interesting teaser! I wanna check it out!!!

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday: A Fair to Remember by Stacey Joy Netzel post!

  5. What a teaser!!! I’m really intrigued now. Going to have to check it out.

    Thanks for stopping by mine!

  6. Excellent teaser. Leaves you wondering with so many questions.

    If interested,
    My TeaserExplosive Eighteen by Janet Evanovich

  7. Great teaser! And I love the cover!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Kelly
    Radiant Shadows

  8. Between the cover and the teaser it looks and sounds groovy!

  9. Great teaser – that book sounds interesting! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  10. Good teaser and really like the sound of the book.

  11. Dead bodies don’t excite me either. Interesting cover! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier today.

  12. Great teaser. I can’t believe this is my first glimpse at this book. It looks like a good read and that cover….wow.
    My Tuesday Teaser

  13. Talk about grabbing your interest – this teaser does that! Great one!

  14. Ohhh, intriguing! I’m definitely wondering what’s going on. o: Great choice! Thanks for stopping by!

  15. That’s definitely a TEASER! Great pick. I love the cover.. the blurb sounds amazing, I’m going to add this to my wish list! Thanks for dropping over to my site 🙂

    April ! My Shelf Confessions

  16. I love the cover! Great teaser! Thanks again for posting on Read@UTS!