WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Muriel Marbery – The Elegance of the Hedgehog
After I mentioned it in my Friday Finds, a forum friend said he’d just finished this book and asked if I would like his copy as he was just going to donate it to a charity shop. I’m about halfway through this one and I’m unsure what I think of it actually. The writing is incredibly elegant, but the prose is a little more heavy-going than I’ve read more recently (I’ve mostly stuck to rather light fare as I don’t have much reading time and can only snatch short moments here and there, which isn’t conducive to more thoughtful material much of the time). It is very good, but I find it’s taking longer to digest than my “fluffy pudding” novels from the young adult section of the library. Sometimes you just need a fine meal instead of a dessert…

Sarah Singleton – The Poison Garden
I’ve not had much reading time yet due to all the festive pressures, so I’m only about a third of the way into this young adult novel. However, I am enjoying it immensely! I’ve previously read only one novel by this author (Century) and was impressed – this one promises to be just as compelling!

What did you recently finish reading?
Nothing! I didn’t finish anything at al lthis week, due to the aforementioned festive pressures…

What do you think you’ll read next?
All borrowed from the young adult section of the local library…

  • Maureen Johnson – The Name of the Star
    I spotted this on various blogs and featured in my Friday Finds as I’m a bit of a Ripper nut and couldn’t resist.
  • Lauren Kate – Torment (Fallen 2)
    I recently read the first one in the series, so I thought I’d see how it continues as it wasn’t a bad start.
  • Laura Powell – The Game of Triumphs
    I just love the cover and the blurb on the back was so cryptic I decided to take it home with me.
  • Sarah Singleton – Heretic
    I recently enjoyed Century by this author and thought I’d try this one featuring a girl accused of being the daughter of a Witch. Intriguing stuff –  I love historical fiction!

 

 

 

One response to “WWW Wednesday

  1. All of those sounds like great reads. Great picks. Here’s my post: http://danicapage.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday-8-and-www.html

    Happy reading!