Teaser Tuesday – The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

“Men command the world that they know,” she says. “Everything that men know, they make their own. Everything that they learn, they claim for themselves. They are like the alchemists who look for the laws that govern the world, and hen want to own them and keep them secret. Everything they discover, they hug to themselves, they shape knowledge into their own selfish image. What is left to us women, but the realms of the unknown?”

page 19-20, The Lady of the Rivers (Cousins’ War 3) by Philippa Gregory

Synopsis:
Jacquetta, daughter of the Count of Luxembourg and kinswoman to half the royalty of Europe, was married to the great Englishman John, Duke of Bedford, uncle to Henry VI. Widowed at the age of nineteen she took the extraordinary risk of marrying a gentleman of her house-hold for love, and then carved out a life for herself as Queen Margaret of Anjou’s close friend and a Lancaster supporter – until the day that her daughter Elizabeth Woodville fell in love and married the rival king Edward IV. Of all the little-known but important women of the period, her dramatic story is the most neglected. With her links to Melusina, and to the founder of the house of Luxembourg, together with her reputation for making magic, she is the most haunting of heroines.

What I think of it so far:
I’m almost 1/3rd of the way through this one and it’s intriguing. The whole period (pre-Tudors, beginning the novel at the time of Joan of Arc’s capture) is fascinating and it’s so interesting looking at the characters who shaped the English monarchy and directly influenced the Tudor reign by their actions. Jacquetta is a wonderful character – so full of hope and promise. She’s a feisty one who is unafraid to go after what she wants. I enjoyed both the earlier novels in this trilogy and have high hopes of this third installment.

23 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory

  1. This sounds interesting! Nice Tease!

  2. Woah, so that time period’s the one with oppressed women? Great teaser by the way!

  3. Sound’s intriguing, I like it.

  4. What a great teaser!!

    Happy Tuesday

    Kyanara

  5. Wow that is quite the teaser. Sounds awesome I’ve never read any Phillipa Gregory may just have to check her out and thanks for visiting mine.

  6. Strong and passionate prose…. Good to be reminded every now and then that it was not that long ago really that equality was not the norm.

  7. That is truly an interesting teaser. Beautiful cover as well.

    If you wish to visit my blog’s teaser this week
    My Teaser

  8. Oh, I’ve been wishing for this one…and I love that teaser! So true.

    Thanks for visiting my blog today.

  9. Great teaser. Tho I don’t agree with the last sentence 😉

  10. I keep hearing about this one lately. Sounds really good!

  11. This is a really interesting teaser. I’m always planning to read Philippa Gregory’s books, but The Other Boleyn Girl is still sitting on my shelf and waiting for me to pick it up. I need to change this soon! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing,
    Carina @ Fictional Distraction

  12. Very cool, thoughtful teaser. Hope you enjoy the book. Thank you for sharing!

    Thanks for stopping by The Bookish Babes!

  13. Absolutely love the teaser. Sadly it describes men now days too. LOL!

    Thanks for stopping by Better Read Than Dead.

    My Teaser Tuesday

    ~Kristin

  14. Great teaser! I’ve never read anything by Philippa Gregory but it sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing and for visiting my blog =)

  15. What a beautiful cover and what a wonderful teaser. I haven’t read anything by the author Philippa Gregory before but the quote you picked does make me want to take a longer look at this book.

    Thanks for stopping by My Reading Pile and I hope you have an amazing bookish week!

  16. Ooh, I’ve always had a soft spot for historical romance! Thanks also for posting on Read@UTS! 🙂

  17. I’ve read Gregory’s Tudor series and loved it! I haven’t started on this one yet! That’s a great teaser! I really do love her writing!!!

    Thanks for stopping by the YA-Sisterhood and checking out our Teaser Tuesday!!!

  18. Wow, love the cover of this book… and the teaser / dialogue is so interesting… i want to know more:)

  19. Interesting teaser.