Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

Do you judge a book by its cover?
Yes I do – almost every time! I’ve found that if I like the cover, it entices me to read the blurb on the back of the book which, in turn helps me decide whether I think I would enjoy the book. If a book has a terrible cover, I find it incredibly off-putting. In fact, and this might sound terribly superficial, but if a cover is particularly bad, I feel it must be a pretty awful book or someone would have taken the time and care to give it a beautiful cover. In the case of self published books, they occasionally have hand-drawn covers that have been created by the author and I (perhaps unfairly) feel it reflects on the writer’s artistic ability and I won’t go near that book with a barge pole!

On occasion, I have found books that have attracted me solely because of the over artwork. The first example is that of The Plucker by Brom. I saw this book sitting face-out on a library shelf and thought the cover so breathtakingly awesome that I borrowed it without even reading the blurb – I just knew I was going to love it. And you know what? It didn’t disappoint! It blew me away with both the artwork and the writing, an dmeant that I have discovered a new favourite. I’ve gone on to read The Devil’s Rose and The Child Thief since then. All three have been superb and I can’t recommend them highly enough!

A more recent example is The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I saw the cover and fell in love. I bought it and haven’t even read the blurb. The simplicity of the colour scheme – the monochrome with a tiny splash of red – is something that has always appealed to me, but this really is just a stunning cover. It reeks of magic and mystery and, well, just everything that is absolutely spellbinding.  It’s next on my list of books to be read and I just have a feeling that this book is really going to make me sing!

 

5 responses to “Musing Mondays

  1. Yay! 🙂 I agree with what you just said. And The Night Circus is one of my favourite covers – I haven’t had the chance to read it though. However, I wouldn’t buy a book just because it has a nice cover. I always read the back cover and if I’m not interested in the story, I won’t buy it (even if it has a stunning cover) 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by! x

  2. yep, I have to agree as well! A great cover may make me pick a book up and hopefully it will go well from there. Read a few pages and it must be mine!

  3. Unless I like the cover, I don’t even read the blurb.

  4. Great post! Thanks for visiting my blog!

  5. I love The Night Circus’ cover and I’ve been wanting to read it since I saw it. I don’t usually buy a book soley on the cover though, but I have been tempted.

    Thanks for stopping by!