Tuesday Memes

Teaser Tuesday
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Some medical beast had revived tar-water in those days as a fine medicine, and Mrs. Joe always kept a supply of it in the cupboard; having a belief in its virtues correspondent to its nastiness. At the best of times, so much of this elixir was administered to me as a choice restorative, that I was conscious of going about, smelling like a new fence.

– Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Synopsis:
Considered by many to be Dickens’ finest novel, Great Expectations traces the growth of the book’s narrator, Philip Pirrip (Pip), from a boy of shallow dreams to a man with depth of character. From its famous dramatic opening on the bleak Kentish marshes, the story abounds with some of Dickens’ most memorable characters. Among them are the kindly blacksmith Joe Gargery, the mysterious convict Abel Magwitch, the eccentric Miss Haversham and her beautiful ward Estella, Pip’s good-hearted room-mate Herbert Pocket and the pompous Pumblechook. As Pip unravels the truth behind his own ‘great expectations’ in his quest to become a gentleman, the mysteries of the past and the convolutions of fate through a series of thrilling adventures serve to steer him towards maturity and his most important discovery of all – the truth about himself.

What I think of it so far:
I’m about two-thirds of the way through this now and I’m enjoying it a fair bit, but not loving it. It seems ot be taking a hellishly long time to get to wherever it’s going, but I am finding quite a lot of humour in it – certainly more than I expected! I’m reading this on my Kindle and downloaded the e-book from Amazon for free HERE!

~***~

top ten Tuesday
Top Ten Books I’d Give a Theme Tune

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

I hear a running soundtrack to my entire life, not just the books I read! Anyway, here are some of the books I’ev read with songs I think fit them well, either as overall theme tunes or as the soundtrack to a certain part of them. I hope you’ll enjoy them:

1. The Stand by Stephen King – Stand by Poison

2. Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell – Uprising by Muse

3. The Plucker by Brom – Sweet Dreams by Marilyn Manson

4. Game of Thrones by George RR Martin – Icehouse by Icehouse

5. Heatwave by Richard Castle – Summer in the City by Lovin Spoonful

6. The Child Thief by Brom – Wild Boys by Duran Duran

And as I’m actually pushed for time this morning, I will just have to leave it at the six instead of the full ten. I hope you liked them and enjoyed watching the videos.

12 responses to “Tuesday Memes

  1. Aww… Heatwave by Richard Castle! I’m obsessed with that series=D Does the book really exist, btw? Lol. Nevertheless, awesome track!=D

    • Ye sit does. Just click on the title to be taken to the Fantastic Fiction page. There are three books so far, plus the graphic novel (the Derick Storm one) they’ve been touting on the show. They’re pretty good reads. If you’re a fan of the show, you should really give them a try. They’re not “Castle and Beckett” but they ARE Nikki Heat… 😉

  2. I like the idea of reading classics again.. great teaser.. Here is mine: http://jbabel.blogspot.com/2012/02/28-teaser-tuesdays-playgroup-by-janey.html

  3. I tried in 10th grade to read Great Expectations. Unfortunately it didn’t meet my expectations (I didn’t get past chapter one). Oops.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog today for TT.

  4. I just read that for the first time last year! It is a slower read than I’m used to, but I think I left it feeling like it was a pretty good book.

    Here’s my teaser (at the end of the post): http://thewarriormuse.blogspot.com/2012/02/catch-fire-blog-party-atozchallenge.html

  5. I’ve always thought that I should read Great Expectations, but I’ve never managed to get around to it. Maybe one of these days I’ll get around to it! Thanks for visiting my blog earlier.

  6. I confess that I haven’t read any of your books so I didn’t really know how the music matched, but what I did like, was the creativity of this meme. Everyone’s answers are so thoughtful, interesting, and creative. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  7. A great teaser!! Thanks for stopping by.

  8. Although I read Great Expectations before, don’t remember much of it more than I didn’t enjoy it myself …

  9. Great teaser! Haven’t read it, but I’m glad it’s humourous 😉

  10. Great teaser! I hope you enjoyed it! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!!