Tuesday Memes

Teaser Tuesday
Snuff (Discworld 39) by Terry Pratchett

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Vimes blinked. Things were looking up! Usually Sybil considered it her wifely duty to see to it that her husband lived forever, and was convinced that this happy state of affairs could be achieved by feeding him bowel-scouring nuts and grains and yoghurt, which to Vimes’s mind was a type of cheese that wasn’t trying hard enough.

page 31, Snuff by Terry Pratchett

Synopsis:
According to the writer of the best-selling crime novel ever to have been published in the city of Ankh-Morpork, it is a truth universally acknowledged that a policeman taking a holiday would barely have had time to open his suitcase before he finds his first corpse. And Commander Sam Vimes of the Ankh-Morpork City Watch is on holiday in the pleasant and innocent countryside, but not for him a mere body in the wardrobe. There are many, many bodies and an ancient crime more terrible than murder. He is out of his jurisdiction, out of his depth, out of bacon sandwiches, and occasionally snookered and out of his mind, but never out of guile. Where there is a crime there must be a finding, there must be a chase and there must be a punishment. They say that in the end all sins are forgiven. But not quite all…

What I think of it so far:
I am now on page 115 and, as fans would expect from a Vimes / Watch novel, it is nothing short of sublime! Pratchett always seems to be at his best when Vimes it at the heart of the story and so far Snuff is no exception.

~***~

Top Ten Tuesday
Top Ten books to save if the house were abducted by aliens (or some other major disaster struck)

Mine top few choices all be sentimental choices, really – all books that feature on my favourites list, apart from one which is actually worth quite a bit of money and, although it’s not one of my absolute favourites, I enjoyed it a great deal and it’s completely beautiful. The rest would be whatever I could grab from my shelves before the disaster struck, so I’ve left the rest of the list blank for that reason:

  1. Philippa Gregory – The White Queen (special edition)
    I won this beautifully bound book and as it’s a numbered limited edition (only 750 available), these retail at £150 each. It’s also signed by the author, making it a bit more special.
  2. Stephen King – The Stand (complete and uncut edition)
    One of my all-time absolute favourite novels. I don’t re-read it very often, but if it weren’t on my shelf and I thought I couldn’t re-read it, I’d be very sad.
  3. Astrid Lindgren – Ronia, The Robber’s Daughter
    This is a childhood favourite and it’s every bit as magical now as it was when I read it at the age of twelve.
  4. Margaret Wise Brown – Goodnight Moon
    This would have to be grabbed from Xander’s bookcase. It’s an old favourite which we read to him every night for about two years – he would have no other at bedtime! He still occasionally chooses this one now.
  5. My Kindle!
    It’s loaded up with loads of books, but contemporary and classics, that I have never read and it would suck if I lost it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 responses to “Tuesday Memes

  1. Great teaser!! My teaser comes from the book Chasing Mona Lisa.

  2. Yeah, it makes sense to grab the books you really can’t replace. And, it’s great to see someone wanting to take their Kindle, like me. Of course, the e-reader needs to go with you, too.

    Thanks for visiting my blog earlier….

  3. Weirdly enough I never thought to include my Kindle even though it has 200+ books, most unread!

  4. Very cool teaser… I love his books.

  5. Funny teaser. I like to keep my Kindle uncluttered so only load books I intend to read soon and when done, I delete them because they are usually library freebies. I only bought one so far.

    Here’s our teaser: http://www.ourstack.blogspot.com/2012/02/tuesday-teasers-incarnate-and-front-and.html

  6. Nice teaser. People keep telling me I should read some Terry Pratchett books, but I’ve never got round to it (yet).

    That’s a really difficult top 10. I’d struggle to keep it down to 10. Like you, though, I’d definitely grab my e-reader.

    My TT: http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/02/21/teaser-tuesdays-feb-21/

  7. I’ve never read any of Terry Pratchett’s books! Sounds interesting!

    Happy reading. 🙂

  8. the witch of theatregoing

    I haven’t quite made it to Terry Prachett yet when it comes to the fantasy genre, but I will one day. 🙂 I did love “Good Omens” though, it was fabulous.
    And I’d save my e-reader too! 😀 Thanks for visiting!

  9. LOVE your teaser! This sounds like a mystery I’d really enjoy, especially if it’s as funny throughout as the synopsis and teaser are. Great post.
    Thank you for posting a comment on my Teaser too.

  10. Teaser sounds like a very different book!

    Preet @ AWR

  11. The teaser is interesting. Love the synopsis where it says he’s “out of bacon sandwiches”!
    Here’s Mine

  12. Haha, I definitely thought about throwing my Kindle onto my list, but I think I just have more attachment to the hard copies!

  13. Gosh, love the teaser! And just remembered that I haven’t read Discworld series in ages :S
    Thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

  14. Great teaser! Saving my Kindle would be an absolute must ;D

  15. Ooh I haven’t seen the special edition of The White Queen! I really enjoy Philippa Gregory’s books.. 🙂

    Great list!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Michele | Just a Lil’ Lost