Movie Review: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn (2011)

Film: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn
Released: 2011
Director: Steven Spielberg
Stars: (Voices) Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Daniel Mays, Toby Jones, Mackenzie Crook, Cary Elwes

Synopsis:
Based on the characters from the comic book series The Adventures of Tintin by Hergé.

Intrepid reporter Tintin and Captain Haddock set off on a treasure hunt for a sunken ship commanded by Haddock’s ancestor.

What I thought of it:
Why this film hasn’t been nominated for Best Animated Feature Film of the Year Oscar  I will never understand! The animation on this movie is some of the most finely crafted I have ever seen. Just watching the movement of water or the reflection of light is startlingly real, but then you look at the expressions and natural movement of the characters and you get completely blown away! I swear, if it weren’t for the fact that the heads are abnormally large for the bodies, and the features exaggerated and charicature-style, you’d be hard pushed to believe that it was animated at all. If that isn’t a major achievement, I don’t know what is!

Surprisingly, the only category for which Tintin is nominated are Original Score (which, admittedly, is very good) – it has been completely snubbed for all the technical categories as well as the aforementioned Best Animated Feature. I take this as a sure sign that the world has gone completely mad, because this film is AWESOME!

The plot is exciting and fast paced, the voice talent is staggering, and, well, have I already mentioned how amazing the animation is? I think I did. Yes, I’m sure I did, but it’s worth mentioning again – THE ANIMATION IS BRILLIANT! And the writing – Steven Moffat, Edgar Wright and Joe Cornish are a triumvirate of genius who should never be allowed to part!

I sincerely hope there are more Tintin films in the pipeline because I, for one, would be dying to see them. And yes, the film is left tantalisingly open for that possible sequel, so that glimmer of hope is most assuredly burning.

If you haven’t already seen it, do so, as soon as possible, and marvel at just how far animation has come, as well as being swept along on an amazing adventure.

Hubby’s review HERE.

Rating:
Posted Image

3 responses to “Movie Review: The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn (2011)

  1. 😀 Glad you enjoyed it too, by far my favourite film of last year.

  2. Pingback: The Adventures Of Tintin : The Secret Of The Unicorn (2011) – A Review « Smurfin' The Web

  3. i have to yet see it.. and we have already planned to go see it this weekend.. thanks for the review..