WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Philippa Gregory – The Lady of the Rivers (Cousins’ War 3)
The third installment in the wonderful Cousins’ War series. I love historical fiction and although I usually go for Roman or Tudor, this isn’t too far out of my usual era as it’s the history of what happened right before the Tudor dynasty attained the throne – it’s how they got there really. I love this sort of historical faction. I’m about two-thirds of the way through as this is the book that is by my bed for reading before going to sleep, and I’ve been too tired and ill to read much at night lately.

Various – Dates From Hell (Compilation)
Contains the following novellas:

  • Kim Harrison – Undead in the Garden of Good and Evil Like a Star @ heaven
    Absolutely dire. Reading this novella reminded me why I never got past the second book in the Rachel Morgan series. This novella includes the most unsexy and unexciting blood/sex scene I have ever had the misfortune to encounter and the story is both dull and predictable. I will be happy if I never read anything by this author again as long as I live.
  • The Claire Switch Project (CURRENTLY READING)
    So far it’s pretty decent and a damned sight better than the previous story, so I’m hopeful the others will be better too…
  • Kelley Armstrong – Chaotic
    Haven’t got this far yet, but I love Kelley Armstrong and am looking forward to it.
  • Lori Handeland – Dead Man Dating
    This will be my first experience of Lori Handeland’s writing…

What did you recently finish reading?
Alyson Noël – Shadowland (Immortals 3) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This one is actually a darned sight better than the second in the series and I may well pick up the fourth in the series when I visit the library this morning (if it’s there!). Both the writing and the story have improved this time round and I found myself re-reading short passages where I enjoyed the words themselves.

I’m not a fan of misrepresenting Pagan religions (I’m not Wiccan, but I know people who are), or any religion, really, and what is described in this book is more akin to fantasy-based sorcery, but the author has attempted to ground it in reality by linking it to Wicca. However, the overall impression given by the author is a positive one – that magick can be used for good or bad and that it is the intent of the user that affects it and not magick itself being black or white (it’s all shades of grey, really). I can get on board with that.

What do you think you’ll read next?
My own books:

  • Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus

From the library:

  • Julia Golding – Cat’s Cradle (Cat Royal 6)
  • Sarah Singleton – Century
  • Stephen Cole – Wounded (Wereling Trilogy 1)
  • Stephen Cole – Prey (Wreling Trilogy 2)
  • Stephen Cole – Resurrection (Wereling Trilogy 3)

7 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. The Claire Switch Project, what a great title hehe. You’ve got some great books there. I’ve been meaning to pick up the Night Circus myself, maybe soon. Too many books not enough time! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Wow, what a list!
    Your review is great… thanks. I love stories with magic but have a hard time when it makes it seem as if pagans and wiccans are evil. TY

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday – House Millar series

    Aine

  3. I’ve never heard of Night Circus before! The cover looks fantastic. Maybe I’ll check it out.

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday.

  4. That is quite a list! I am looking forward to The Lady of the Rivers. Here is mine: http://jaynesbooks.blogspot.com/2011/10/www-wednesdays_26.html

  5. I’ve seen The Night Circus around quite a bit. May have to check that out. I read the first in The Immortals series, but found the characters too flat. It sounds like the series improves over time, though. Hmmmm…

  6. I’ve thought about reading The Night Circus. And I kind of gave up on The Immortals after book 4 I think. Hmm. I should go back to it. 🙂

  7. The Night Circus is everywhere right now, and I haven’t been able to get to the bookstore since it was released. So jealous!

    Here’s my WWW for this week. Happy reading!