Teaser Tuesday – Shadowland (Immortals 3) by Alyson Noël

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Raising my athame and slicing across my palm, tracing the curve of my lifeline as a rush of wind sweeps through the circle and an applause of thunder claps overhead. My hair whipping about as  I squint against the swirling gale, my blood letting onto the cord until it is soaked and red.”

– page 301, Shadowland (Immortals 3) by Alyson Noël

Synopsis:
Ever and Damen have travelled through countless past lives – and fought off the world’s darkest enemies – in search of each other. But just when their destiny seems finally within reach, a powerful curse falls upon them. A single touch of their hands, a soft brush of their lips will mean death for Damen – cast into the darkness of the Shadowland. But as she seeks to break the curse, Ever meets Jude – a green-eyed, golden surfer boy who understands magick, and understands Ever better than she realises. And she begins to ask a terrifying question: even if you’re immortal, can true love really last forever?

Ever and Damen have travelled through countless past lives – and fought off the world’s darkest enemies – in search of each other. But just when their destiny seems finally within reach, a powerful curse falls upon them. A single touch of their hands, a soft brush of their lips will mean death for Damen – cast into the darkness of the Shadowland. But as she seeks to break the curse, Ever meets Jude – a green-eyed, golden surfer boy who understands magick, and understands Ever better than she realises. And she begins to ask a terrifying question: even if you’re immortal, can true love really last forever?

What I think of it so far:
This one is actually a darned sight better than the second in the series and I may well pick up the fourth in the series when I visit the library this morning (if it’s there!). Both the writing and the story have improved this time round and I found myself re-reading short passages where I enjoyed the words themselves. The teaser I left above was one of those moments – I just loved that “applause of thunder” and thought it very evocative.

I’m not a fan of misrepresenting Pagan religions (I’m not Wiccan, but I know people who are), or any religion, really, and what is described in this book is more akin to fantasy-based sorcery, but the author has attempted to ground it in reality by linking it to Wicca. However, the overall impression given by the author is a positive one – that magick can be used for good or bad and that it is the intent of the user that affects it and not magick itself being black or white (it’s all shades of grey, really). I can get on board with that.

20 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Shadowland (Immortals 3) by Alyson Noël

  1. Ooh good teaser I own this whole series but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

  2. This is not a book I would enjoy, thanks for the added impression of it.

    Here’s ours–we have 3 this week AND a giveaway!
    http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/10/tuesday-teasers-wildwood-night.html

  3. Good teaser, sounds like an interesting book!

  4. I love that coer and the tease makes it more intriguing!
    Here’s my tease from a mystery set in feudal Japan by Laura Joh Rowland – My tease

  5. Great teaser and a very vivid description! Thanks for visiting my teaser!

  6. awesome and maybe like I should be on guard for something scary to happen, lol!
    Thanks for stopping by CBS

  7. I read the first 2 books in this series, but never got to the 3rd. Great tease, makes me want to pick them up again! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • If you were put off by the second one, I can promise the third one picks up again (I thought the second one was rubbish and wouldn’t have continued with the series at all if I hadn’t already got the third one out of the library at the same time!).

  8. Woah, I’ve read this book before but I can’t remember this scene! Haha! That’s a great pick! I wonder why I can’t remember it… It would’ve made my impression of it even cooler. Lol.

  9. Love this teaser! I couldn’t make it through the second book. :\ The characters drove me crazy. Hope you enjoy them. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by mine.

    • The second book was dire and, as a result, I wouldn’t have read the third one if I hadn’t got the first three out from the library at the same time. This one’s definitely a lot better although sometimes the characters are still rather maddening, as you so aptly put it! 😉

  10. An evocative teaser. Thanks for visiting!

  11. Very nice teaser! And thanks for stopping by 🙂

    xo,
    Lah @ LazyGirl Reads

  12. Nice teaser this week! I’ve been wanting to read this series forever now 😀
    Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!

  13. Awesome teaser! Thanks for stooping by my blog!

  14. Interesting teaser. I’ve heard a lot about this series, but haven’t quite decided if it’s one I would like. Glad you’re enjoying it though!

  15. Ohh the teaser is really nice… haven’t read any in this series yet… Thanks for visiting

  16. Excellent teaser! I want to know more!

  17. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Interesting teaser!