W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Alex Scarrow – Day of the Predator (TimeRiders 2)
I read the first book in this series back in June and so far this one is just as good.

Simon Scarrow – Young Bloods (Revolution 1)
I’ve read all the Romans series to date and thought it was about time I gave the Revolutions quadrilogy a try, since I’ve had the first three books on my shelf waiting to be read since they were first published!

What did you recently finish reading?
Douglas Jackson – Caligula Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
Transworld Book Group – see full review HERE.

Nicholas Sparks – The Notebook Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This is not the kind of book I normally read. Although it’s written by a man, it’s a bit “chick-lit” and romantic for my usual tastes, but this is utterly compelling. As the story slowly unfolds, I’m finding myself falling in love with Noah and Allie, and I desperately wanted things to work out for them. It’s not often that a book makes me cry, but this one had me in tears, both of sadness and of joy. It’s a wonderful book and I recommend it even if it’s out of your comfort zone.

What do you think you’ll read next?

  1. Black Swan Rising by Lee Carroll
  2. Crippen by John Boyne
  3. The Colour of Death by Michael Cordy

All three of these are my remaining choices from the Transworld Book Group, so whichever one arrives first will be the next I read.

Abandoned this week
Kevin Crossley-Holland – The Seeing Stone (Arthur Trilogy 1)
It’s 338 pages long, but has 100 chapters. By page 50, I had read 17 chapters and that was more than enough to know this wasn’t for me. To be honest, starting a new chapter every other page disrupted the flow – not that there was much flow anyway, as everything seemed to chop and change each time a new chapter began. As some chapters were literally less than a single page in length, I very quickly grew weary of it and dumped it. I won’t be returning to it or the rest of the series, despite being a huge fan of the Arthurian legends. A shame, because I was looking forward to it.

Transworld Book Group

Comments are closed.