Monday Memes

It’s Monday, What are you reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge
R – Review for author or publisher
K – Reading for Kindle Klub Book Group

Charles Dickens – Great Expectations (E/BL/C)
Till now, I’ve only ever read A Christmas Carol, as I confess I was a little afraid of reading Dickens. However, I am finding this a surprisingly humourous read and am enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would. Let’s just say I now have great expectations of this novel. I’m sorry, I just couldn’t resist the pun! *shame* I’ll be reading this for quite some time as it’s a long one…

Terry Pratchett – Snuff (Discworld 39) (S)
I’ve been a massive fan of the Discworld novels since the early 90s when I discovered them whilst on holiday in the Lake District. I’m only a short way into this latest book, but I already love it. For a start, it’s a Vimes novel, so you just know it’s going to be good; and he’s out of his comfort zone, so you know it’s going to be pretty great actually!

~***~

Cover Crazy

Hosted by The Book Worms

What I love:
The usual suspects: Black, white, red, silhouettes. These things always grab my attention, but I also love how the branches of the tree reach out and show branches of the story. It’s very clever in the placement of the title and author’s name too – one of the uppermost branches where they are unobtrusive, but set without the encircling branch, so it’s crystal clear.

Synopsis:

On the very morning Willie Upton slinks home to Templeton, New York (after a calamitous affair with her archeology professor), the 50-foot-long body of a monster floats from the depths of the town’s lake. This unsettling coincidence sets the stage for one of the most original debut novels since The Time Traveler’s Wife. With a clue to the mysterious identity of her father in hand, Willie turns her research skills to unearthing the secrets of the town in letters and pictures (which, “reproduced” in the book along with increasingly complete family trees, lend an air of historical authenticity). Lauren Groff’s endearingly feisty characters imbue the story with enough intrigue to keep readers up long past bedtime, and reading groups will find much to discuss in its themes of “monsters,” both in our towns and our families.

~***~

Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

What is the last book that you learned something from? What book was it, and what did it teach you?

Goodness! I don’t usually think of books in terms of what they can teach me. I’m a pleasure reader, so I read whatever I think will entertain me in some way, wether it’s by being pure escapism or making me think, but I never really choose books on a basis of what they might teach me. So ,other than text books while at school or college, I can’t think of a single book that jumps out at me.

No, that’s not strictly true. There is one book that I always say I’d want with me if I were stranded on an island somewhere, as it is not only a cracking read (and quite a good length too, so it would keep me going for a while) but is also packed with surprising survival tips. That book is Savages by Shirley Conran. I guess it has taught me all kinds of little things like digging a drainage ditch around your camp that runs downhill, so that your shelter won’t be washed away, and capturing a rat to test out any foodstuffs before you eat them yourself. So, I guess I’ll give that one an honourable mention.

25 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. I agree with your weekly meme.
    I don’t choose a book thinking, oh there’s a life lesson in here and I should read. No! If one comes along fine but I read for pleasure 😀

  2. Wow! You have combined a lot of memes here!

    Here’s my It’s Monday.

    I’d like to invite you to sign up for my February Giveaway! Win Paris to the Past or All Kinds of Kisses or a $25 Amazon gift card!

  3. I have never read any of Charles Dickens books but I would like to in the future. Enjoy your week of reading 🙂

  4. Oh, awesome cover crazy like always! The art is simply stunning! Like you, I love the tree branches! So beautiful! ❤

    Check out my cover crazy this week? 🙂

  5. Caite@a lovely shore breeze

    I think you can be learning even when you are just reading for pleasure..

  6. Time to reread Charles Dickens….I’m thinking of finding free classics for my Kindle.

    Enjoy your reads.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  7. I’m with you–I mostly read for pleasure. Although I love a book that teaches me new words.

  8. I think I need to add a classics challenge next year and reread all the books we were forced to read in school. I bet I would enjoy them much more now. With the exception of Shakespeare, don’t ever want to go there again. lol

    • Shakespeare’s work is meant for watching, not reading. I guarantee that if you watch the plays (at least good productions of them), you will love them. Reading them, much as I love his plays, can be something of a chore!

  9. OMG there’s someone else out there that know the book Savages lol. Most people i know have never heard of it but it has been one of those books I really enjoy and have re read a few times. Have a great week!

  10. I also love the cover you chose. It’s a great book as well if you haven’t read it. 🙂

    Reading Lark’s Cover Crazy

  11. I’m glad to see someone’s reading the classics! Nice.

    http://www.leavemommyalone.blogspot.com

  12. good response. I drew a blank on the Musing question right off, too. Nicely put!! I like what you learned too! Thx for hopping by my Monday!!

  13. For some reason I’ve never read Discworld. I know it’s a series I would absolutely LOVE, but other books keep getting in the way and I really need to fix that. 🙂

    Here’s what I’m reading!

    • Read them! As soon as possible! I’ve never been much of a fan of the first two in the series, but the rest (apart form Eric, which I rank down with the first two) are great and the series gets even better as it goes on.

      I heartily recommend looking at the reading order guide and choosing a thread you think will most appeal to you (ie Watch, Witches, Death, Industrial Revolution etc) and then picking up the starter novel in that set (marked in gold on the guide) then following through the rest of them in order. You can read them all in sets, or you can go back and read them all in publication order, but I wouldn’t dot about the order within the sets as you’d ruin later plot points and some areas might not make so much sense as you would have missed major events. Anway, you can find the guide here:

      (click on it to enlarge)

      • oh my gosh THANK YOU. Years and years ago my sister (who isn’t really a reader) picked up one because the cover had a ~silly picture~ on it. I remember starting it, but it must have been a book in the middle of a series somewhere because I was so confused and had no idea what was going on.

  14. I can’t even remember if I tried to read Great Expectations…I’m not a big fan of Dickens, but I keep thinking I should try something of his I haven’t read before.

  15. I guess GE isn’t required reading for ninth graders anymore.

    • We have rotating curriculums in the UK where different books become the required reading ni different years and they are studied for our exams. I’m sure there was some Dickens in there some years, but I missed it while I was at school. We studied novels like The Great Gatsby, Animal Farm, and Sunset Song in class.

  16. Looks like you’re reading some good books! I hope you have a good week!

  17. That’s a fantastic cover on The Monster of Templeton.

    Sounds like you’re really enjoying that Discworld book. I’m fairly new to the Disc, mostly working through the Death novels first.

  18. I want to read A Christmas Carol at some stage. Thanks for visiting my blog, have a great week & happy reading 🙂

  19. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Savages sounds like an interesting read. Thanks for sharing!