WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Muriel Marbery – The Elegance of the Hedgehog
Still no further with this one. Don’t get me wrong, I’m enjoying it a lot, I just haven’t had the time to devote to sitting down and reading it and books like this tend to make me think, so I like to have the time to think about and absorb them. I’ll probably get back to it after Xmas is out of the way…

Maureen Johnson – The Name of the Star
This one is a zippy-fast read and I’m loving it! I’m a bit of a Ripper-ologist (not an expert, but I know an awful lot about the Ripper case and have read many books on th subject as I find it so fascinating). This one promises to be a rip(per)-roaring read (sorry, I couldn’t resist a very poor pun there) and I’ll definitely be finished this one before Xmas as it lends itself well to short bursts of reading, which is exactly what I need in such a busy period!

What did you recently finish reading?
Sarah Singleton – The Poison Garden Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I enjoyed this one, but not as much as I thought it would. It got a little garbled in the middle with all the garden stuff, but straightened itself out again pretty quickly. Singleton has a wonderful way with words and the situations she describes almost leap off the page, so I’ll definitely be reading more of her work.

What do you think you’ll read next?
I know I’ll get at least one or two books for Xmas, but I also have these from the library and they have to go back by 4th January:

  • Lauren Kate – Torment (Fallen 2)
    I recently read the first one in the series, so I thought I’d see how it continues as it wasn’t a bad start.
  • Laura Powell – The Game of Triumphs
    I just love the cover and the blurb on the back was so cryptic I decided to take it home with me.
  • Sarah Singleton – Heretic
    I recently enjoyed Century and The Poison Garden by this author and thought I’d try this one featuring a girl accused of being the daughter of a Witch. Intriguing stuff –  I love historical fiction!

 

8 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. You have an excellent selection of books here. I suggest you read Torment next while the first story is still fresh in your mind. The Poison Garden is on my to-read list already and I can’t wait to get to it. I’ll be sure to check out your review.

  2. I’ve heard good things about The Name of the Star. The Poison Garden sounds interesting too. I haven’t been able to continue the Fallen series (read the first book and stopped…will be interesting to see what you think of Torment). The rest of the books sound interesting and will have to check them out.

    Thanks for stopping by earlier! And I’m a new follower, just fyi. 🙂

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  3. The Name of the Star sounds interesting. I have watched many documentary and movies on Jack the Ripper but have never read a book on the subject. I will definitely need to check this out.

  4. Not heard of these, Here is my WWW

    Merry Christmas to you and yours x

  5. I love Maureen Johnson’s books, but still haven’t gotten this one, but I’m glad you’re enjoying it 😀 Happy reading!

  6. I’ve got The Name of the Star on my TBR list. Hopefully I’ll find a copy soon.

    Here’s my WWW for the week. Happy reading!

  7. Torment is really good! Hope you enjoy it! And I can’t wait to see what you say about The Name of the Star, because I have it on netgalley if it’s still up! Merry Christmas and happy reading!