Teaser Tuesdays – The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

It went on and on, until Claire realized that the head was barely attached at all, and that the puddle she was kneeling in was almost certainly not rainwater.

The eyes saw it all.

– page 3, The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Synopsis:
The day Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London marks a memorable occasion. For Rory, it’s the start of a new life at a London boarding school. But for many, this will be remembered as the day a series of brutal murders broke out across the city, gruesome crimes mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper events of more than a century ago.

Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him. Even her roommate, who was walking with her at the time, didn’t notice the mysterious man. So why can only Rory see him? And more urgently, why has Rory become his next target? In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities.

What I think of it so far:
I’m about to start this one (tonight, in fact) so I can’t comment on it yet as I haven’t read any of it. I thought I’d give a teaser from the very beginning of the book so I didn’t spoil anything for myself…

22 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

  1. Sounds amazing! I just bought this book so I will be reading it soon, I’m excited! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. I loved this book a lot!!! Hope you enjoy it once you start it.

  3. Great teaser! I have this book on my TBR mountain. I really am eager to read it. My teasers are from Lawe’s Justice by Lora Leigh and Kaptain Vamp by Joanne Lecuyer. Two very different reads!

  4. Great teaser! I keep hearing great things about this book 🙂

    My teaser is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  5. OH, EW!! That sounds very exciting and dangerous – what a fun book to be starting!! 🙂 Thx for hopping by my TT!

  6. Sounds really intriguing Merry Christmas! Here’s my teaser Enter my book giveaway while your there!

  7. Wow that is a really intense teaser! Definitely made me want to read it.
    My Teaser Tuesday

  8. Brutal!
    Fab choice of teaser.

    Here’s my TT:
    http://ttoria.blogspot.com

    TToria
    xo

  9. I love this teaser and I haven’t seen that cover before. It’s way cooler than the Canadian one. Thanks for sharing 😉
    Tristan @ Reads With Wreckless Abandon

  10. “The eyes saw it all”? Creepy! I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for visiting.

  11. I bought this book in October because it sounded really good, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet.
    I haven’t seen that cover before, it’s better than the one on the book that I have. Great teaser.

  12. Love your teaser! Though not sure I’m brave enough to read the book! Thanks also for posting on Read@UTS!

  13. That’s a very interesting teaser! It grabbed my attention.

  14. Such an awesome teaser! I have this on my TBR and Wishlist list.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  15. That sounds like a really interesting book. Great teaser 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by.

  16. I really like the teaser and the cover is so cool.. am going to check out this book.. thanks for sharing.

  17. I finished this book recently myself and enjoyed it a lot, AND it’s outside of my normal reading genres. I recommended it to a few other avid readers at my office and they all really like it too. Enjoy!
    -Jay

  18. Great teaser! I so loved this book. TNOS is one of my favs of 2011…too awesome for words.

  19. Ohh. Now that’s a teaser. o.o And omg I want to read it so bad. Great choice! I’m even more excited. Thanks for stopping by!