Stitchy Saturdays – X-Stitching Xmas Challenge 2012

Each Saturday, I will feature either something I’m currently stitching, something I’ve just finished stitching, or something I’ve just designed. I hope you’ll all join me in displaying some of your own work and leaving a link to your post in the comments below.

I’m pleased to announce a new stitching challenge for 2012…

X-Stitching Xmas Challenge

It’s a simple premise – you cross stitch twelve items for Xmas 2012 – they can be cards, tree ornaments, banners, gifts for others that you will give them for Xmas – so long as you finish stitching it in 2012. You can start it slightly earlier if you like – this could be the perfect opportunity to finish off seasonal WIPs (Work In Progress) and UFOs (Un-Finished Object).

I’ll be stitching twelve of my own designs of varying sizes – all will be available from my Kincavel Krosses blog and most, if not all, will be freebies. You can, of course, choose any designs you fancy by any designer you like. And if you don’t celebrate Xmas, you can apply it to the winter holiday of your choice, whether it’s Hanukkah, Kwanza, Yule, or any other!

You can stitch one each month, or stitch them in clusters – the only stipulation is that they should be twelve DIFFERENT designs, not twelve of the same design (no, not even if you use colour variations!). The idea is to explore different seasonal designs and have fun stitching them.

The FIRST SATURDAY of each month will be X-STITCHING XMAS SATURDAY and I’ll make a post showing my progress – hopefully everyone who takes part will all comment and link back to their own progress too.

I hope my fellow stitchers will find themselves inspired to join me!

My fellow stitching challengers are:

39 responses to “Stitchy Saturdays – X-Stitching Xmas Challenge 2012

  1. Pingback: X-Stitching Xmas Challenge 2012 « Kincavel Krosses

  2. I love a challenge! Will join you! socialsue

  3. I love the idea of the challenge for 2012 and will definitely be joining in. I plan on doing some of the designs you did this year and look forward to others you pass on. Thanks for the challenge!

  4. Please count me in. I didn’t do enough stitching this year and maybe this will get me going.

  5. you can count me in ^^

  6. Pingback: Xmas X-stitching Challenge 2012 « Claire93′s Blog

  7. Do they need to be seasonal designs? I will often give non-seasonal xstitch gifts for Xmas presents. If the style is open then I’m in too.

    • Of course! As long as they are either cards, decorations or gifts for others that will be given at Xmas (or your winter holiday of choice) they’re included. The idea is to get prepared for Xmas (or other) throughout the year so there’s not the frantic rush at the end of the year. 🙂

      I’ll look forward to seeing what you stitch. And if you’re worried about the recipients seeing their gift, you don’t have to post pics of the full pieces – you could just take a crytic snapshot of part of the piece and not say who it’s for. 😉

      • Weird I thought I already replied to this, but I don’t see it, so I’ll try again. Thanks Kell, I already have some ideas and posted about it on my brand-new blog. 😀 I’m looking forward to 2012 and actually accomplishing one of these challenges next year.

  8. Bonjour, I come in with you ! It’s a good idea ! I am french and I hope that my english permit me to understand your blog and your challenge !
    cath

  9. Sounds like a fun challenge! I’ll join you, I have always wanted to stitch some nice tree ornaments. =)

    Ulrika (Sweden)

  10. I’ve dedicated a page on my blog to this Challenge http://cleejoow.blogspot.com/p/x-stitching-xmas-challenge-2012.html

    Greets,

    Bieke (Belgium)

  11. I would love to join you, too! I already planned to be stitching Christmas ornaments during the year. This will be the perfect challenge to actually get a full dozen finished! Great idea!

    Debbie in California

  12. I would love to join as well. I’m Randi and my blog is:

  13. I think this sounds fun ( and motivating)… Count me in!

  14. Pingback: Stitchy Saturdays | Diary of a Domestic Goddess

  15. Hi, I would love to join in, too. I really want to get my Christmas ornie stitching done early next year and when better to start then in January? Also, I would love to stitch some of your designs.

    My blog is http://kittenstitching.blogspot.com

    Merry Christmas, Kaye xoxox

  16. I love stitching ornies, so count me in!

  17. Sounds like fun! I would love to join in! 🙂 Might help me in the motivation department and get my bug out of hiding 🙂

  18. Here is a link to my blog where I always post my stitching progress …

    http://its-all-about-cross-stitch.blogspot.com/

  19. Stephanie Slack

    I will be taking part in this as a few of my WIP’s are Christmas designs – look forward to seeing people’s progress 🙂

  20. Hope I’m not too late to sign up hon 🙂

  21. I would love to join your christmas challenge. Please count me in.

    Linda

  22. I would love to join. This WILL be the kick in the pants I need!!! So much stitching, so little time.

    blessings, jilly

  23. I join you for Christmas Sal