Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

What kind of books do you like to read?
Why? Provide specific examples.

I’m quite an eclectic reader, but I guess one of my big favourites would be historical fiction, especially those set during the Tudor dynasty or ancient Rome. I just adore fictional retellings of actual historic events, but these two periods fascinate me. In both cases its the way of life and political intrigue that grabs me every time.

Examples of novels I’ve loved are

  • (TUDOR) Philippa Gregory – The Other Boleyn Girl /The Boleyn Inheritance / The Queen’s Fool / The Virgin’s Lover / The Constant Princess / The Other Queen
  • (TUDOR) Alison Weir – The Lady Elizabeth / Innocent Traitor
  • (TUDOR) Jean Plaidy – The Lady in the Tower
  • (ROMAN) Simon Scarrow – the Romans series
  • (ROMAN) Michelle Moran – Cleopatra’s Daughter
  • (ROMAN) Robert Graves – I, Claudius

Another genre that has always grabbed me by the throat is vampires! There’s just something about vampires that gets my blood pumping and I can’t get enough of them. Some of them have been dreadful (Stephenie Meyers is number one on my hit list of authors who have ruined vampires – they SHOULD NOT SPARKLE!!!), but others have been marvellous and I keep returning to these books – they’re just so addictive!

Just a tiny handful of the vampire novels I’ve loved:

  • Bram Stoker – Dracula
  • J Sheridan LeFanu – Carmilla
  • Charlaine Harris – the Southern Vampires series
  • Darren Shan – The Saga of Darren Shan series
  • Dacre Stoker – Dracula The Un-Dead
  • Elizabeth Kostova – The Historian

Finally, I have to mention a newer genre that has me gagging for more – mash-ups! Whether it’s a dark re-imagining of a classic novel, or a re-written history of a public figure, they’re hilarious and wonderful reads. I’ve yet to be disappointed!

I’ve read and loved the following (and there will be more!):

  • A E Moorat – Queen Victoria: Demon Hunter
  • Lynn Shepherd – Murder at Mansfield Park
  • Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
  • Amanda Grange – Mr Darcy, Vampyre
  • Adam Roberts – I Am Scrooge: A Zombie Story for Christmas
  • Sherri Browning Erwin & Charlotte Bronte – Jane Slayre
  • Seth Grahame-Smith – Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

 

11 responses to “Musing Mondays

  1. our tastes differ quite a bit..but I must say “I Am Scrooge: A Zombie Story for Christmas” peaked my interest. lol

    • It’s a good laugh, but it’s actually my least favourite of the mash-ups I’ve read. It’s still very funny though. I heartily recommend giving mash-ups a try – I have several more on my Xmas wish list. 😉

  2. Have you tried Mistress of Rome by Kate Quinn, yet? Fabulous, fabulous book! I read it this year, and loved it so much that I immediately went searching out other books by this author — haven’t read them, yet, but intend to! All about gladiators, and Rome… I think you’d love this book. 😉

    ~MizB

  3. I used to read a lot of historical novels…I plan to read some this year.

    Not a fan of vampires…lol

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. Very nice list. I like historical fiction but have not read any of your favorites.

  5. I’ve been wanting to get into historical fiction. I might have to check out some of these book. Great Musing Monday!

  6. Interesting choice of books. I love historical fiction, but typically stick to YA historical fiction.

    Definitely will have to look at these closer. http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/musing-mondays-dec-12/#comments

  7. I loved Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Jane Slayre, and Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter! They were so much fun to read.

    Thanks for stopping by today 🙂

  8. I agree with you on Vampires if nothing else. Vampires should not sparkle.

    I love Dracula too.