WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Muriel Marbery – The Elegance of the Hedgehog
After I mentioned it in my Friday Finds, a forum friend said he’d just finished this book and asked if I would like his copy as he was just going to donate it to a charity shop. I’m about halfway through this one and I’m unsure what I think of it actually. The writing is incredibly elegant, but the prose is a little more heavy-going than I’ve read more recently (I’ve mostly stuck to rather light fare as I don’t have much reading time and can only snatch short moments here and there, which isn’t conducive to more thoughtful material much of the time). It is very good, but I find it’s taking longer to digest than my “fluffy pudding” novels from the young adult section of the library. Sometimes you just need a fine meal instead of a dessert…

What did you recently finish reading?
Melissa Marr – Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely 1) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
First in the Wicked Lovely series. It’s alright, but nothing to write home about. I’ve read rave reviews of this series all over the place, so I might give it a chance and read the second one, but there wasn’t anything particularly original about it other than it’s fairies instead of sparkly teenaged emo vampires (I’m sure you get my drift). The female lead is a good deal stronger than the “heroine” of the aforementioned sparkly vamps series, so that’s something in its favour at least. Actually, if I awarded half stars, I might add that extra half here, but I don’t so it has two stars only. Still, the series might get better…

What do you think you’ll read next?
Fresh from the young adult section of the local library yesterday morning…

  • Maureen Johnson – The Name of the Star
    I spotted this on various blogs and featured in my Friday Finds as I’m a bit of a Ripper nut and couldn’t resist.
  • Lauren Kate – Torment (Fallen 2)
    I recently read the first one in the series, so I thought I’d see how it continues as it wasn’t a bad start.
  • Laura Powell – The Game of Triumphs
    I just love the cover and the blurb on the back was so cryptic I decided to take it home with me.
  • Sarah Singleton – Heretic
    I recently enjoyed Century by this author and thought I’d try this one featuring a girl accused of being the daughter of a Witch. Intriguing stuff –  I love historical fiction!
  • Sarah Singleton – The Poison Garden
    And this one was right next to Heretic. I fell in love with the cover – I can’t resist the combination of black, white and red with a touch of silver.

7 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. Interesting choice of books. Some of them are on my tbr list, some of them aren’t, so I’ll check them out! Happy reading!

  2. Great reads! More books for me to add to my ever growing TBR list – thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/12/www-wednesdays-waiting-on-wednesday-and.html

  3. I really enjoyed The Mane of the Star. I have been thinking about reading Wicked Lovely and I have it in my Nook, I just haven’t had a chance to get to it. (there’s other books I want to read more lol) I do eventually want to get to it though. Thank you for stopping by my blog.

  4. I meant The Name of the Star. lol!! *shamed at typo*

  5. I’vee read Wicked Lovely too, it was okay, but I can’t even remember it =/

  6. I am excited to read nearly all of these. Man you guys keep showing me books that I need to read….my to-read list keeps growing with at least ten books a day….I need to read faster. That’s the only solution unless I build a machine that can freeze time. 🙂

    Here’s mine: http://danicapage.blogspot.com/2011/12/waiting-on-wednesday-7-and-www.html

  7. I couldn’t get into Elegance of the Hedgehog. I hate saying it, but the movie was certainly wonderful!
    My list: http://wellreadfish.blogspot.com/2011/12/www-wednesdays.html