Summer Raspberry Cupcakes

I love the summer – not because of the sunny weather, but because of all the summer berries that come into season! (I’m not a warm weather person – I think I was supposed to be born in the Arctic Circle, but the stork missed his mark and dropped me in the UK instead!).

Xander (my three-year-old son) is having a phase of “I don’t like that” with most fruit and veg, so I have to come up with ways of getting him to eat them without realising it. I based this recipe on the Celebration Cornet Cakes on the CBeebies website, but wanted to cut a few calories here and there to make it a treat I could also enjoy now and then. Here’s what I did:

Summer Raspberry Cupcakes
Makes 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg white
  • 30 mls oil
  • 30 mls skimmed milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 20g caster sugar
  • 60g self raising flour
  • 60g fresh raspberries
  • a few drops of pink food colouring (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 200C.
  • Lightly whisk the egg white, and add the oil, milk and vanilla.
  • Add the raspberries to the mixture and break them up to make the mixture go pink (you can add a few drops of pink food colouring if you wish).
  • Add the flour and sugar and mix well. The mixture will be very sloppy.
  • Divide into four cupcake cases and bake for 25-30 minutes until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  • Cool on a wire rack, then enjoy with a glass of milk or a cup of iced tea!

Info for your food diary (per serving):

  • Calories: 146
  • Carbs: 17g
  • Fat: 7g
  • Sat Fat: 1g
  • Protein: 3g
  • Sodium: 18g

Values are based on the products I used – they may vary slightly from brand to brand. As you can see, it’s a very simple recipe, and you could easily swap out the raspberries for other soft fruit – blueberries or blackberries, or even cherries might be nice, but remember to change your nutritional values to correct them.

The Results:
I have to say, I’m very pleased with how these turned out. They weren’t particularly pink, but then I didn’t use any food colouring in mine – if you want your cupcakes more rosy, you can add a little extra colour if you wish.  These are very light little cupcakes and have a pleasantly fruity flavour which is complemented by the vanilla, but neither overpowers the other. The verdict from my 3-year-old son is that they are yummy, so I’m happy with that!

If you try this recipe, or a variation on it, please do let me know what you think of it!

2 responses to “Summer Raspberry Cupcakes

  1. An Amazing recipe! Thanks so much for sharing! =)