Movie Review – The Muppets (2011)

Film: The Muppets
Released: 2011
Director: James Bobin
Stars: Amy Adams, Jason Segel,  Chris Cooper, The Muppets

Synopsis:
When three Muppet fans learn that Tex Richman wants to drill under the Muppet Theater for oil, Gary, Mary and Walter set out to find the Muppets who have been split up for years so that they can put on one last show and save the Muppet Theater. Kermit the Frog now lives in his own mansion depressed in Hollywood, The Great Gonzo is a high-class plumber at Gonzo’s Royal Flush, Fozzie Bear performs with a tribute band called The Moopets, Miss Piggy is the plus-size fashion editor at Vogue Paris, and Animal is at a celebrity anger management rehab center in Santa Barbara.

What I thought of it:
I love the Muppets. As a kid, I tuned in every week when The Muppet Show was on and laughed my little head off. I’ve loved loads of Muppet movies, and I thought I’d love this one too. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The main plot point was basically lifted directly from It’s a Very Merry Muppet Christmas Movie (2002) with the Muppet theatre (and, in this case, the whole studio) being threatened by an evil business mogul, but it all fell apart pretty easily because the $10 million The Muppets need to raise to save the theatre could easily have been handed over by several of The Muppets themselves – after all, Kermit is living in a mansion in Bel Air, Gonzo owns and runs a massively successful plumbing company, and Miss Piggy is the plus size editor for Vogue.

Then there are the human stars – don’t get me wrong, I like Jason Segel, Amy Adams and Chris Cooper, but I hated them all in this. Especially Chris Cooper as the aforementioned business man who cannot actually give a maniacal laugh, so instead repeats over and over the words “Maniacal laugh.” It’s tedious and annoying after hearing it just once.

The song, “Man Or a Muppet” won an Oscar for best original song, but it was the best number in the film and, to be honest, wasn’t all that great either. And jack Black has become such an obnoxious parody of himself I’d be glad if I never saw him onscreen again.

If you ever liked The Muppets, please DO NOT see this film, unless you particularly want all your wonderful childhood memories of them trampled and smashed to smithereens.

Rating:

2 responses to “Movie Review – The Muppets (2011)

  1. But….they did “mahna mahna?!”
    ;o)