Monday Memes

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge
R – Review for author or publisher
K – Reading for Kindle Klub Book Group

Robyn Young – Insurrection (R)
I’ll be reviewing the sequel when it comes out too! Looking forward to them both immensely. I’ve only just started this one and it’s over 600 pages to it, but it looks great! I adore historical fiction, and one set in Scotland is an added bonus, because that’s where I live!

~***~

Cover Crazy

Jane Austen – Emma
Anna Sewell – Black Beauty
Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret Garden
All from the Penguin Threads collection

What I love:
The very fact that the covers are stitched (well, the original design was anyway) speaks to both my stitchy side and my bibliophilic leanings. They are such beautifully crafted covers that anyone would love to have them in their collection.

~***~

Musing Mondays


Hosted by Should Be Reading

Have you ever found a book out of the blue, read it, and then had it be surprisingly good — one that stuck with you for years?
If so, what book was it?

Yes! For me it was The Stand by Stephen King. I’ve mentioned this book countless times before as it’s one of my all-time favourites, so I won’t rave about it again in case I bore you all rigid! I’d never even heard of it and I’d only ever read Carrie by King (and love it), so when I came across this massive chunk of a book at over 1000 pages in hardback, I thought, “Well, let’s give it a try, shall we?”

Two days later I emerged from that book with my mind blown!

I remember very well it was the Saturday morning I came across it, bought it, and started reading it. I finished it late on the Sunday afternoon. I was fortunate I had done my homework on the Friday night, or I would have been in a heap of trouble on Monday!

I must have read it at least a dozen times since then and it always has the same effect on me. I love it completely!

7 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. I love those stitched covers–beautiful!

  2. Those covers are gorgeous. And I think I was blown away by ALL the earlier King books. He definitely helped a lot getting me hooked on reading 🙂

  3. Nice choice. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I just read the latest King book 11/22/63 and LOVED it! I enjoyed The Stand, too!

  5. The Stand was ALMOST my book because it was the start of the PA love. But I had to go with one that has been with me through some interesting times and it stemmed because of the first book I ever read! I LOVE Stephen King though!! Here is mine!
    MusingMonday

  6. Penguin always has the most interesting covers.

    My favorite read this week was the audio version of Shutter Island. Please come see what else I’m reading.