Monday Memes

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge
R – Review for author or publisher
K – Reading for Kindle Klub Book Group

Thomas Hoover – Caribbee (E)
I’m about 3/4s of the way through this and I’m enjoying it immensely.

Georgette Heyer – Regency Buck
Borrowed this from a colleague – so far, so good.

~***~

Cover Crazy

Around the World in 80 Days
From the Earth to the Moon
20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
Journey to the Centre of the Earth
– All by Jules Verne

What I love:
What’s not to love about these gorgeous covers? Looking at them, you get a real feel for the contents of Verne’s wonderful tales, and the vintage look of them speaks of the time in which they were written. Truly, these classic novels deserve such stunning covers. Everything from the colours to the composition, to the style of cover art and typeface just screams class and is just so beautiful to look at I could cry right now because I do not have these versions on my bookshelves. I shall have to remedy that situation as soon as possible!

~***~

Musing Mondays


Hosted by Should Be Reading

Would you choose to review a book if its description sounded interesting but the cover was terrible?

Short answer – yes. I’ve reviewed hundreds of books over the years and some of them had truly dreadful covers. Some of the contents matched the awful cover art (“art” being a very kind description in some cases!), but others have been wonderful.

Even looking at the books in my permanent collection – the earlier Discworld novels by Terry Pratchett have, in my opinion, hideous covers – ugly, bulbous characters sprawling across the cover bearing little-to-no resemblance to the characters on the pages, with garish colours to add to the offence. However, the contents of those books are wonderful – some of my favourite books of all time come from that very series. If I had let myself be put off by the covers, I would have missed out on so much enjoyment.

In general, a pretty, unusual or striking cover will tempt me to pick up a book and at least read the blurb to see if it might appeal to me, but sometimes the ugly ducklings turn out to be swans too.

7 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. Hiya!! Those Jules Verne covers are STUNNING! Such a great find!

  2. I really do not want to, and I will read it but now it is my consideration for buying it in ebook or hardback here is mine though and it does not totally take all that into consideration, I had an evil librarian PTSD related panic attack while reading. no seriously! http://cabingoddess.com/2012/03/musing-mondays-march-19

  3. I always like a book better if it has a great cover!

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?!
    I’d love to have you stop by!

  4. Such a great answer! I need to rethink my cover snobbery!

  5. a cover does matter..maybe I have passed some ugly books up…but once I pick it up, it doesn’t really matter.

  6. I love the covers of the Jules Vernes books! I definitely judge a book by its cover. I really enjoy the picture because that’s the only visual you can hold onto for the whole book. That’s why I find it hard to read on my e-reader. Because it’s just black and white. xx