Booking Through Thursday – A Different Kind of Romance


Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Have you ever fallen in love with a fictional character?
Who and what about them did you love?

Yes. For many years now I have been in love with Stu Redman from The Stand by Stephen King. He is my not-so-secret love.

Whats not to love about him? I mean, he’s a regular guy – the way he’s written, you could believe he’s real. He’s gentle and kind and thoughtful – a real gentleman without being corny about it. He’s sincere, loyal and determined – you get the feeling that once Stu sets his mind on doing something, he’ll keep going till he’s done it, but he’s not horribly stubborn either. He’s a quiet, reflective kind of person – not book smart, but life smart – he’s been through the mill and come out the other side still standing and still strong. It’s not every man who would accept that the woman he loves is carrying another man’s child (from before they met, albeit, but still..) and fight to protect her and that child as well as the rest of humanity.

Stu is the kind of man we all secretly hope we’ll end up with. We might, as little girls, dream of Prince Charming sweeping us off our feet; We might, as teenagers, wish that a dark and dangerous vampire (even if, in some dire cases, he sparkles) will creep in at our window and change our lives; but what we really want, when we grow up and think about it, is someone sure and steady who will stand by us through thick and thin, always loving us and trying to do the right thing by us.

Stu Redman IS that man, and he’s the one every man should aspire to being.

11 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – A Different Kind of Romance

  1. I’ll have to read that book! I recently read The Accidental Tourist and felt so much for Macon, the main character. Also loved Emma from One Day, as she reminded myself of me – writing for years 🙂 I’ve now put a picture of the front cover on my notice board to remind myself to persevere! 🙂

  2. I haven’t read The Stand, but Stu sounds like a great character. Thanks for sharing! Here is my BTT.

  3. I still haven’t read Stephen King at all, just associating him with horror stories. Maybe I should give him a try!

    Here’s mine: http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2012/03/btt-bookish-romance.html

  4. Ah, yes, that kind of guy….

    But here’s what I wrote in MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  5. YES! Stu Redman is awesome! I do sort of have a professor-y crush on Glen Bateman, though… 🙂

  6. OH.
    My.
    Gah!
    You can’t have Stu, he’s MINE! ;o)
    Well, ok, you have Stu. My next favorite character that I crushed on while reading The Stand the first time was Nick. And the fact that Rob Lowe played him in the mini-series certainly didn’t hurt!
    ;o)

  7. Love your response!

    My BTT

    New follower! Follow back please!