February 2012 Book Round Up

Another month, another batch of books finished. I received a couple of books for review from publishers, joined in a reading circle, and crossed a few off various challenge lists, as well as beating my one-book-per-week target. All in all, I’m rather pleased with my progress…

KEY:
K = Kindle e-book
R = Reviewed for publisher or author
Like a Star @ heaven Dire – don’t waste your time
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven OK, but nothing to write home about
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven Very good – worth a read
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven Excellent
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven Superb – read it immediately!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

BOOKS FINISHED IN FEBRUARY:
17. Amor Towles – Rules of Civility (R) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
See full review HERE.

18. SJ Parris – Heresy (K) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
Fans of historical fiction and murder mysteries will love this romp through Elizabethan Oxford. This novel, first in the Giordano Bruno series, does a great job of introducing the characters and their situations quickly and fluidly – there is no getting bogged down in unnecessary detail – whilst getting right into the nitty gritty of the story.

There’s intrigue, there’s mystery, there’s the element of religious persecution, and there are red herrings and surprises that keep you guessing till the end. It’s exactly what you want from a good murder mystery with the added bonus of an exciting period in England’s history!

19. Jenn Ashworth – Cold Light (R) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
See full review HERE.

20. Catherine Cooper – The Golden Acorn (K) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This was the Kindle Klub choice for February.
See full review HERE.

21. Charlaine Harris – Dead Reckoning (Southern Vampires 11) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
See full review HERE.

22. Stuart MacBride – Birthdays for the Dead Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
See full review HERE.

BOOKS STARTED BUT CARRYING OVER TO  MARCH:

  • Charles Dickens – Great Expectations (K)
  • Terry Pratchett – Snuff (Discworld 39)

BOOKS STARTED BUT ABANDONED:
M. D. Keating – Sunburnt (R)
Alas, I have my first abandonment of the year! Sunburnt by M D Keating is purportedly “a revolutionary new style of storytelling,” but is actually written in the style of a screenplay or script!

I’m not a script-reader. I do not get any pleasure from reading plays – I’d rather see them on a stage or screen. I could hardly get past the first few pages purely because of the style in which it is written (along with it being present tense, with which I always have difficulty getting to grips).

It’s a real shame, because I “won” this one from Goodreads and thought it sounded rather interesting. Now I’ll never know if the story is any good because I simply cannot read it!

As a result, I cannot give it a rating of any stars, because I cannot constructively comment on the contents, only the style

PRIORITY FOR MARCH:
Georgette Heyer – Regency Buck

A colleague has loaned me this, so it’s been bumped up to the top of the list. I’ve never read any Heyer before now, but I know Stephen Fry is a big fan (he mentioned on a TV show once that The Reluctant Widow is one of his favourite books) and that’s good enough for me!

Lew Wallace – Ben-Hur (e-book)
This is the March choice for Kindle Klub, so we’ll be reading and discussing it HERE. If anyone would like to join us, we’d be glad to see you there!

One response to “February 2012 Book Round Up

  1. I heard Stuart MacBride’s Birthdays for the Dead reviewed on The Book Report some time ago, but its sounds a bit gruesome for my liking, I cant wait to get the Terry Pratchett though. You could still listen to the Stuart MacBride review in the archives – http://www.bookreportradio.com/archives.html