Movie Review – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (2011)

Film: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Released: 2011
Director: Stephen Daldry
Stars: Thomas Horn, Tom Hanks, Sandra Bullock, Max von Sydow, John Goodman,  Viola Davies

Synopsis:
Based on the novel Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.

A nine-year-old amateur inventor, Francophile, and pacifist searches New York City for the lock that matches a mysterious key left behind by his father, who died in the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001.

What I thought of it:
I know I’ve rated a couple of films very highly, all of which are Oscar nominees for some of the big prizes (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor/Actress), but of all the ones I’ve seen to date, this one beats them all. So much so that I wish I could give it an extra mark and make it 6/5!

It’s an emotional rollercoaster ride from start to finish, with some great feel-good moments and even greater moments of utter anguish as we watch a young boy search for a connection with the father he has lost.

I cannot commend highly enough the young lead (Horn) in this film, especially as this is his first screen role (I know! I couldn’t believe it!). He shows a maturity, understanding and ability far beyond his years – honestly, you’d expect this kind of performance from an extremely seasoned actor many years his senior. His grasp of the character and his interpersonal relationships is phenomenal and his portrayal poignantly real. Bullock and Hanks are both excellent as his parents, but it is von Sydow’s silent performance that really makes the rest of the film. Than an actor can play a silent role in a film that is not silent, and still show such range and give a heartbreakingly wonderful performance is astonishing.

This is the film that should win Best Picture and Best Supporting Actor (von Sydow), but it should also have been nominated for Best Director (Daldry), Best Actor (Horn), and Best Adapted Screenplay, and it is nothing short of a travesty that it has not. It truly deserves the highest rating I can give and I urge everyone to see it as soon as they possibly can. I promise, you will cry, but you will also find yourself feeling hopeful and happy.

My hubby’s review HERE.

Rating:

3 responses to “Movie Review – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (2011)

  1. Interesting – I’ve had mixed feelings about seeing this movie. Bob didn’t want to see it because of the 9/11 connection (he thought it would be too depressing). I think this will be another one that I’ll have to catch on DVD or HBO or something, as it really sounds great.

    • It’s actually very uplifting and heartwarming. Going by the other films in the past where you’ve had similar opinions on them to me, I’d say go for it – I think you’ll really like this one. It really is exceptional! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Oscars 2012 | Diary of a Domestic Goddess