Booking Through Thursday – Blogs

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What do you look for when reading a book blog?
Does the blogger have to read the same genre?
Do you like reviews? Personal posts? Memes? Giveaways?
What attracts you to a book blog?

All of the above! I read book blogs to help me discover new books I might not have ordinarily considered or even known about in the first place. As I enjoy a wide range of genres and styles, I like to see the same in others’ blogs – some I peruse are genre-specific, but the majority are by people who have eclectic tastes. Many of the books and blogs I have discovered have been through taking part in memes and I’m more likely to visit a blog multiple times if I see the blogger taking part in these as it is something we have in common and I know that on a given day of the week, there will be new book-related content.

Giveaways are all very nice, but they’re not the be all and end all for me – actually, I rarely enter them. A lot of giveaways are area specific and many are based in the US, so I wouldn’t be eligible anyway, but again, I use these as opportunities to spot new books that might interest me.

One thing that puts me off is that some Blogger blogs seem to be incompatible with WordPress when it comes to commenting. I’ve had some awful problems trying to leave comments on blogs recently and unless there is the option for posting using my name and URL, I often can’t comment at all, even if there is the Open ID WordPress option available. The problem usually occurs with the CAPTCHA code – for some reason it just will not register as correct when I enter the characters. (See my blog post about this issue HERE.) When I come across these blogs, I tend to strike them off my list as, although I don’t comment a lot, I do like the option to do so if Im’ feeling particularly inspired by an entry.

And–what are your favorite book blogs?

My favourite book blog is actually one to which I contibute. I know that sounds big-headed, but it actually has a very large team of reviewers so the books reviewed there cover every genre and you get a very wide range of opinions, often with several reviews of the same book by different people, so you get multiple perspectives. Click the link below to be whisked away to the blog:

Book Club Forum Reviews

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Blogs

  1. Very good answer! 🙂 – I have noticed most giveaways are US related – I try and make mine INT whenever possible 🙂 – Which is alot actually! lol

    See My Booking Through Thursday – Here

    Tabby @Insightful Minds
    Come Check Out My – 250 Follower Giveaway!

  2. Hi I am a lover of book in general and not a book blogger. I just finished my fourth review, Yeah me. That’s tells how my post goes. I have found a lot of mine from this meme. Here is my post: http://edwardsgranddaugther.blogspot.com/2012/02/book-blogs.html

  3. I have really hated the new Blogger CAPTCHA thing lately…it’s like they’ve purposely chosen letters that blend together and make me squint…and then I have to do it again, anyway, as I’m wrong! lol

    I only keep going back to those sites if I really like their content.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  4. Yeah I def here about a lot of new books that I normally wouldn’t have looked at through blog hopping. Here is my BTT
    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  5. Great answer. I’m glad I’m not the only one having that Blogger CAPTCHA problem, but it’s still a pain. My BTT:
    http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/booking-through-thursday-blogs-feb-23/

  6. I’ve been having that problem with Blogger as well! It’s so frustrating.

  7. I definitely prefer to see read blogs with more eclectic tastes too. More variety!