Movie Review – The Descendants (2011)

Film: The Descendants
Released: 2011
Director: Alexander Payne
Stars: George Clooney, Shailene Woodley, Amara Miller, Nick Krause, Beau Bridges, Matthew Lillard, Judy Greer

Synopsis:
Based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemmings, the film stars George Clooney as an indifferent husband and father of two girls, who is forced to re-establish his relationship with his daughters after his wife suffers a boating accident that leaves her in a coma, and deal with the aftermath of learning about her affair.

What I thought of it:
Mixing drama, tragedy and comedy effectively is a difficult task to attempt, but The Descendants pulls it off with flair. This is largely down to the very fine performances, not just by established Hollywood hard-hitter Clooney, but also his young co-stars. Both Woodley and Miller show and emotional depth and ability that belies their age, and they easily match the standard of their BAFTA and Oscar nominated co-star.

It was also something of a joy to watch Krause as the somewhat bumbling Sid, who initially comes across as a brainless, tactless idiot, but is revealed to have surprising warmth, depth and understanding of the situation, as well as offering his unerring support to the family during their most trying and emotional time. He adds much of the lighter, comedy sides of things, but doesn’t skimp on the serious stuff either.

Clooney is, in my opinion, our generation’s Cary Grant. He oozes charm, and has the quick-fire wit, versatility and faultless timing of one of Hollywood’s best loved actors, and he truly deserves accolade for his performance in this heartwarming film.

My hubby’s review HERE.

Rating:
Posted Image

4 responses to “Movie Review – The Descendants (2011)

  1. i couldn’t agree mom about Clooney

  2. I have several friends who’ve seen this and all liked it a lot. But for some reason I can’t quite get excited about seeing it. But I do like your comparison of Clooney to Grant – spot on, even though I’d never put it together myself!

    • I wasn’t at all bothered about seeing it either – totally didn’t sound like my kind of thing. But then hubby watched it. And he loved it. And he convinced me to give it a try. I am SO glad he did, because it really is wonderful. I think you might like it, Sunny. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Oscars 2012 | Diary of a Domestic Goddess