Booking Through Thursday – Only Five


Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

If you had to pick only 5 books to read ever again,
what would they be and why?

I think I’d have to make sure they were all loooooooooong books to keep me busy for quite some time. I also may have to cheat just a little bit here. I know lots of people will go for something like The Complete Works of Shakespeare, but, much as I love his work, I’m not a fan of reading plays – I’d much rather watch them, so he will be conspicuous by his absence…

  1. The Stand by Stephen King (complete and unabridged edition)
    This is one of my all-time favourite books; not because it’s of any particular literary merit, but for the story and the characters. When I crack open this book, it’s like visiting old friends, and despite having read it from cover to cover at least a dozen times, I always discover something new in there that I had either glossed over before or forgotten about. It’s also well over 1000 pages in hardback, so it keeps me going for quite a while when I read it.
  2. The Complete Novels of Jane Austen
    I reckon this is a legitimate choice because you can buy it as a single volume. It’s a very large hardback volume, but I have seen it in shops and therefore feel I can count it as a single choice. I feel I’m growing to appreciate these novels more as time passes and would love to revisit them.
  3. The Collected Works of the Brontë Sisters
    Are you sensing a theme here? I’ve read all their best known works, but there are still a few of the less well-known novels I’d like to try as well as re-reading those I’ve already tried. Anne is my favourite sister, but all three were incredibly talented.
  4. The Complete Works of Charles Dickens
    I’ve only ever read A Christmas Carol, so this would be a great opportunity to rectify that situation and get to grips with the others. I just hope I would enjoy them enough that I didn’t kick myself for not choosing something else, but I feel one should always have something they’ve never read before on these lists, just to mix things up a bit.
  5. The Complete Adventures of Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
    Again, available in a single volume. I’ve only ever read the first novel and I loved it for the adventure, the characters and the humour. I think I would love the other books too, so they are what I choose to fill my last spot.

So there you go. I’ve actually surprised myself by filling four of the five spots with classics, but there you go. If I could only have five books for the rest of my days, these would be the ones I chose to fill my very limited shelf space. Or I could pop them all on my Kindle and carry them with me wherever I go…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Only Five

  1. Austen, Brontë, Dickens – good choices. Can’t really imagine all of Dickens in one volume though? Although I do actually have The Complete Works of Shakespeare in one, so I suppose… Shakespeare did not get on my list for the same reasons that you give here! I’m not sure I ever read Stephen King.

  2. Ha, I love that you picked the complete works of things so you’re definitely getting more than five books. Great choices. All very great classics. I picked all contemporary, I should have gone for one classic but 5 is just too hard to break down. Here’s my BTT.

    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  3. Those will definitely keep you busy! Good choices….

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  4. Wonderful Choices!

    Here is my BTT: Only Five post!

  5. Wow! Nice collection! That is sure to keep you busy for awhile!
    I love the Jane Austin books! – Stephen King kinda creeps me out sometimes, but my all time favorite book by him is IT (:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Tabby @Insightful Minds

  6. I love all of the authors on your list! 🙂 Great Picks!
    We even share an author
    Sir Alexandre Dumas….I went with Monte Cristo but I have 3 Muskateers as well
    http://inner-aspen.blogspot.com

  7. I’ve heard such amazing things about The Stand, and I’m seriously thinking I need to give it a shot. And The Three Musketeers! I haven’t read that book in such a long time—your list is inspiring me to re-evalutae my TBR pile! I didn’t pick any of the classics on my Top 5, and I’m starting to wonder why I forgot!

    Thanks for sharing your picks!

  8. While I’m familiar with all of them I confess that among them the only thing I read was Pride and Prejudice. Yikes.

    Thanks for stopping by. ^_^

  9. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    “…for the story and the characters. When I crack open this book, it’s like visiting old friends, and despite having read it from cover to cover at least a dozen times, I always discover something new in there that I had either glossed over before or forgotten about.”

    That was my only criterion for choosing my ‘only five’ books.

  10. I love Jane Austen! And Wuthering Heights 🙂 Great choices!