Tuesday Memes

Teaser Tuesday
Cold Light by Jenn Ashworth

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

This coverage will play all night. Chloe, upstaged at last. They haven’t named the body yet, but I know it is Wilson. I know

page 8, Cold Light by Jenn Ashworth

Synopsis:
I’m sitting on my couch, watching the local news. There’s Chloe’s parents, the mayor, the hangers on, all grouped round the pond for the ceremony. It’s ten years since Chloe and Carl drowned, and they’ve finally chosen a memorial – a stupid summerhouse. The mayor has a spade decked out in pink and white ribbon, and he’s started to dig.

You can tell from their faces that something has gone wrong. But I’m the one who knows straightaway that the mayor has found a body. And I know who it is.

This is the tale of three fourteen-year-old girls and a volatile combination of lies, jealousy and perversion that ends in tragedy. Except the tragedy is even darker and more tangled than their tight-knit community has been persuaded to believe.

Blackly funny and with a surreal edge to its portrait of a northern English town, Jenn Ashworth’s gripping novel captures the intensity of girls’ friendships and the dangers they face in a predatory adult world they think they can handle. And it shows just how far that world is willing to let sentiment get in the way of the truth.

What I think of it so far:
Another review request to the BCF reviews team, this time from the publisher. I’m about half way through and although it keeps skipping backwards and forwards across time, it holds together well and I’m enjoying it. The mystery is unfolding bit by bit…

Top Ten Tuesday
Books I hand people who say they don’t read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

My top ten books I hand people who say they don’t read are actually some of my favourite books of all time (although not all):

  1. The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis
    I generally tell people not to bother with A Horse and His Boy, but the rest of the series is just wonderful.
  2. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
    This is actually my favourite of all her books. It’s all very well loving Pride and Prejudice or Emma, but I think people who haven’t read Austen get put off by those two and this one is far more accessible and exciting.
  3. The Plucker / The Devil’s Rose / The Child Thief by Brom (aka Gerald Brom)
    All three of these books are nothing short of brilliant. Brom’s artwork is astounding – dark and beautiful to the extreme – and his writing skills live up to their promise. These are the books I recommend to people most often and I’ve not heard of anyone being disappointed yet. The first two are illustrated novels; the third is a full length novel (with some ink drawings) and a reworking of the Peter Pan legend that, in my opinion, outstrips the original!
  4. The Princess Bride by William Golding
    Have you seen the film? It’s brilliant, isn’t it? The book is even better (although the film is an excellent adaptation) and has all the things you love about the film plus extra! If you loved the fact that Grandpa kept skipping bits, you’ll love that the book actually mentions doing the same and goes into some detail as to why. Don’t worry, it doesn’t hamper the flow – it adds to the experience. Everyone should own a copy of this book, so put it on your Xmas wish list immediately!
  5. Mort by Terry Pratchett
    I know, I know – it’s the fourth Discworld novel, but it’s where the series starts getting really good. I’ve never been a fan of the first two books, and although I love the third one (Wyrd Sisters) it’s still not quite as good as Mort at being a “feeder” into the series.
  6. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J K Rowling
    It’s the book that got a nation of non-reading children to read. Then it got the adults addicted to the series too. You can’t go far wrong with that, can you? It’s pretty much assured that if someone reads the first one, they’ll continue with the rest of the series!
  7. Bitten by Kelley Armstrong
    First in the Women of the Otherworld series. This one sinks its teeth into you and won’t let go.
  8. The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory
    This was the one that really grabbed me and got me seriously into historical fiction. I’d barely dallied with the genre before this but I found myself fascinated and just kept going with more after this one got me hooked!
  9. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
    It’s one of those novels that is very easy to get into but really makes you think. Incredibly moving and beautifully written, it’s a surefire winner.
  10. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
    If you’re looking for action, adventure, espionage and comedy, this has got the lot! It’s a really fun read and easy to go to in small bites which makes it less intimidating than you might imagine. It’s absolutely brilliant from start to finish.

Even if you’re already an avid reader, I hope you’ll give some of these a try!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

21 responses to “Tuesday Memes

  1. The Princess Bride is… just… amazing! Too bad I didn’t think about it! Great list!

  2. Northanger Abbey is my favorite Austen book, too. It would be a great introduction for a non-reader.

  3. Great teaser and a lot of good books on your list. Thank you for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  4. I like the teaser. It sounds like one of those teen television shows. The cover looks a little spooky. Here’s Mine

  5. Great teaser! The blurb made me want to read it…thanks for sharing. And for visiting my blog.

  6. The Harry Potter books sure are popular for the non-readers lists today! But so true, that it got so many children to read.

    I love your teaser, it definitely makes me want to read 🙂

    Come see my Top Ten / Teaser Tuesday! (And be sure to enter my giveaway.)

  7. Nice teaser! Here is mine http://jbabel.blogspot.com/2012/02/27-teaser-tuesdays-home-by-manju-kapoor.html.. Loved your List of books for top ten Tuesdays too.. Have read a couple of them and might pick some more!

  8. Great teaser and great list. I have been meaning to read Northanger Abbey for forever. I really need to get to that one. It’s the only one I haven’t read of hers. I think I’m just scared of finishing off my Austen novels.

    Here’s mine: http://danicapage.blogspot.com/2012/02/teaser-tuesday-15-and-top-ten-books-id.html

  9. Great Teaser!! I like your list too, although it feels weird that even though I’ve been reading pretty much continuously since I could walk, I have even read half of that list. Odd, huh?
    ;o)

  10. Intriguing, can’t really guess what will happen from the book cover or your teaser. Thanks for posting on Read@UTS!

  11. Argh! I can’t believe I didn’t put The Chronicles of Narnia on my list! Great choices!

  12. I was so close to putting Mort on my own list! It’s my favorite Discworld. All of the books on this list are great (though I think The Three Musketeer’s girth might scare people off), I love that Northanger Abby is your favorite Austen.

  13. Great tease! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  14. Great teaser. Have not heard of this book, but it sounds good. Have only read three on your “recommended” list — 1, 2 and 6 — though #10 in in the TBR pile. Thanks for visiting!

  15. Good call on Other Boleyn Girl! I thought about maybe putting that on my list too! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Michele | Top 10

  16. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Intriguing teaser. Thanks for sharing!

  17. Great teaser–sounds intense! Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier today =)

  18. Intriguing teaser and great list. Love the Narnia and Harry Potter books. Never Let Me Go is on my TBR list, but I’ll need to add some of the others from your list now. Thanks for visiting my blog yesterday.

  19. Great teaser choice. I so have to read Cold Light.

  20. Sounds like an interesting book from that teaser! Must check it out! Hope you enjoy it! Happy reading!