Monday Memes

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge
R – Review for author or publisher
K – Reading for Kindle Klub Book Group

Jenn Ashworth – Cold Light (R)
I’m only a few chapters into this one, but so far so good. Leaps back and forth between two timelines very effectively. I’m enjoying both the teen and adult versions of the characters, and there’s an undercurrent of very dark humour which appeals to me a great deal.

Catherine Cooper – The Golden Acorn (E/K)
Again, only a few chapters in, but it’s fairly decent so far. A bit of myth and magic for the children’s fantasy market. There’s the inevitable Harry Potter comparison (young boy who is the subject of a prophecy; magic; mythical creatures, etc), but I like the inclusion of Celtic mythology and Druidism used here.

~***~

Cover Crazy

Hosted by The Book Worms

What I love:
The starkness of the white on black contrasted by the delicately elegant curlicues of what looks like a wrought iron gate is rather beautiful, don’t you think? And I love how the author’s name is held in place by two of the fat little cherubs so that it, along with the title, becomes part of the gate. To me, a gate like this represents either an entrance to something mysterious, or a forbidding warning that the contents are not for everyone’s eyes…

Synopsis:

London, 1850. Charles Maddox had been an up-and-coming officer for the Metropolitan police until a charge of insubordination abruptly ended his career. Now he works alone, struggling to eke out a living by tracking down criminals. Whenever he needs it, he has the help of his great-uncle Maddox, a legendary ‘thief taker,’ a detective as brilliant and intuitive as they come.

On Charles’s latest case, he’ll need all the assistance he can get.

To his shock, Charles has been approached by Edward Tulkinghorn, the shadowy and feared attorney, who offers him a handsome price to do some sleuthing for a client. Powerful financier Sir Julius Cremorne has been receiving threatening letters, and Tulkinghorn wants Charles to – discreetly – find and stop whoever is responsible.

But what starts as a simple, open-and-shut case swiftly escalates into something bigger and much darker. As he cascades toward a collision with an unspeakable truth, Charles can only be aided so far by Maddox. The old man shows signs of forgetfulness and anger, symptoms of an age-related ailment that has yet to be named.

Intricately plotted and intellectually ambitious, Tom-All-Alone’s (aka The Solitary House) is an ingenious novel that does more than spin an enthralling tale: it plumbs the mysteries of the human mind.

~***~

Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

Did you do any reading in lieu of watching the football game, yesterday, or were you foregoing reading to watch the game? If you read a book (or books) what did you choose?

I assume the intended reference is to the Superbowl, rather than the Chelsea/Manchester United footie match? Hubby was watching the Chelsea match on the computer in the background, but I’m afraid we don’t “do” the Superbowl in our house, seeing as how we’re in the UK and I’ve never watched gridiron football in my life!

Anyway, I didn’t get any reading done through the day. I very rarely do. It was a regular Sunday for us – grocery shopping and family time – so I spent most of the day playing with Xander, doing stuff on the computer and cooking (we had Bolognese for tea and I like to make it from scratch – delicious!).

I read a few chapters of Cold Light by Jenn Ashworth in bed before going to sleep, but that was it. Not much of a literary answer this week!

16 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. Well, it sounds fun to me! 🙂 Its always good to spend time with the family. Here is my musings.

    Vidya @ Books Are Magic

  2. how America-centic of us.
    here, almost everyone watches the SuperBowl. and, I did watch it..but only because the battery on my Nook died and I did not have a ‘real’ book with me.

  3. Wow! You did a great job combining several wonderful memes!

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    I’d like to invite you to sign up for my February Giveaway! Win All Kinds of Kisses or a $25 Amazon gift card!

  4. Your Cover Crazy is awesome! It’s very beautiful 🙂

  5. looks like some great books I will definitely be following you now!

  6. This was the first year I didn’t see the Super Bowl but I didn’t do much reading in that time either.

  7. I think it’s really great how the meme just said Football and there was a football game in the uk yesterday just as there was the superbowl. Either way I didn’t want I was too busy reading. Here’s my MM.

    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  8. I didn’t watch the football game, I’m not a fan, I chose to read a book.

  9. Added Cold Light to my to-read list. Great books this week 🙂 Happy reading! I liked your Musing Mondays post, too. My family doesn’t watch the superbowl either and we live in the US!! (don’t tell anyone thought, it’s probably a national crime)

  10. Regarding the cover, I like the contrasting colors: green and black, but the rest of it doesn’t excite me.

  11. Have a fab week! See what I’m reading here.
    Tasha @ A Trillian Books xxx

  12. Aussie here and we don’t do the super bowl either but I do have a Man U and Chelsea fan in house (both my boys are mad keen soccer players) … thank goodness they drew or it would have been unpleasant lol.
    Cold Light sounds pretty good. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

  13. Looks like some good books here – the titles are all new to me, I hope you’re enjoying them!

  14. Being in the States, I don’t really have an excuse, but I didn’t turn the Super Bowl on either. I discovered during the playoffs that when every other commercial is for food, it starts to wear down my dieting will power! Enjoy your week!

  15. This is so your type of cover! 🙂 Love the gate, and the whole cover is quite intriguing. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?