Booking Through Thursday – Found Books

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Have you ever read a random book left in a waiting room or on a park bench, etc., and did you like it?

I did once find a BookCrossing book that had been left outside the local hospital when I went with my sister to visit her boyfriend, but we gave it to him to keep him entertained while he was in there, so I didn’t read it. I can’t even remember the title of it.

I’ve picked up books from various BookCrossing points, but I’ve never found one “in the wild” – not yet, anyway!

My sister did find a small pile of books left at a bus stop a short while ago, all copies of the same book – Dreamwords (book 1) by Paul Story. They were all in individual sealed clear plastic bags to protect them from the weather and each one contained a little little card which explained it was an “experiment in honesty”. Basically, the books were free to pick up and take away to read, but in doing so, the reader agrees to the following:

  • I will read the book within one month
  • I will pay for this copy if I want to read book 2
  • I will otherwise send £1 anonymously to the author

I think it’s a wonderful idea and I shall be sending off my £1 very shortly (although I confess I haven’t got round to reading it just yet as I’ve been so busy and have several other books to read and review for publishers and authors). However, I’m looking forward to giving it a try.

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Found Books

  1. I haven’t yet had the pleasure to find a good unattended book at in the open world, outside of the usual places.

  2. Interesting experiment. Out here I don’t think it would work.

    Here is my answer: http://jaynesbooks.blogspot.com/2012/02/booking-through-thursday-found-books.html

  3. Mine sort of fits…it was random and unexpected. Here’s MY THEME THURSDAYS POST – and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  4. That sounds really interesting. Here’s my BTT.

    Happy Reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  5. What an interesting experiment and an interesting experience. I don’t think I’ve ever been lucky enough to find a book laying around.

  6. Hello! Thanks for dropping by my blog!

    Weird experience finding a pile of books and everything!