Monday Memes

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge

Tony Levy – A Turnkey Or Not? (e-book)
The Book Club Forum reviews team was contacted by the author with a request to review this autobiography by an ex-prison officer. As my Dad has been a prison officer in the Scottish Prison Service for 25 years, I thought I might find it interesting… and I was right! It’s an insightful, often humourous look at life on the in front of the bars, but inside the prison system and so far I love it!

Amor Towles – Rules of Civility
Another review request to the BCF reviews team, this time from the publisher. I’ve only just started this one so I can’t really comment on it so far, apart from to say that the writing is wonderful. I can only hope the plot and characters live up to that promise…

~***~

Cover Crazy

Hosted by The Book Worms

What I love:
Actually, what I love most is the style of illustration! The cover art by Lori Koefoed is just so stunning, and I adore the composition of the figure in the mirror, the ornate frame, and the natural simplicity of the creeping ivy leaves and creatures. It smacks of fairytale adventures, but also speaks of a style that might mirror *ahem* Pratchett (take a look at the Discworld covers by Paul Kidby and you’ll see what I mean).

Synopsis:

Two sisters. One a witch and a queen. The other transformed by her sister’s touch into a mirror–a mirror with voice and memory and magic, but no power to transform herself back to the girl she once was. And then, mysteriously, the queen disappears and another girl finds the mirror. This girl has troubles of her own, but she is also a means to escape and soon the girl and the mirror are on their way to find the magic that will bring both pain and hope to both of them. Mette Harrison’s mesmerizing voice spins a breathtaking tale of love, lies, and redemption.

~***~

Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

How far along are you in your current read before you start thinking about what you’ll read next?

As I take part in WWW Wednesdays each week, I usually have a pretty fair idea of what I’ll be reading next and tend to stick to that unless something comes up, such as a book arriving for review, which then takes precedence over my original choice. The original choice still gets read, just a little later than expected. I don’t think there’s ever been a specific point in my current reading where I start thinking about the next book, but I usually think a couple of books ahead as I have such a HUGE load of unread books on my shelf!

10 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. A very interesting pick for your Cover Crazy. I like the take on the Snow White theme.

    Come visit my Cover Crazy?

  2. Love your Musing Monday’s answer.
    And I really like the Cover Crazy idea 🙂

  3. It’s nice you can stick to the book you’ve planned to read. I salute you! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Different answer! Didn’t expect it. 🙂 See my answer at My Musings.

    Vidya @ Books Are Magic.

  5. Great answer – I am the exact same way! There are so many good books coming out this year alone, so it’s tough to stay focused on what I’m currently reading, without looking forward to the next one. 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2012/01/musing-mondays-some-goodies.html

  6. Yes if you take part in www then you def know whats coming next. Here’s my Musing
    Happy reading!
    Cathy @ Addicted to Books

  7. I haven’t done a WWW for a while. I’ll try to play this week!

  8. I try to leave myself choices and so far I seem to had done pretty well.

  9. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Nice answer.

  10. I think couple of books ahead, too. Though many times I receive/borrow/buy such an amazing book that I can’t stop myself and read it instead. But still, I usually manage to read that intended book at least in some point 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by!

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?