Booking Through Thursday – Writing Or Riveting?

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What’s more important: Good writing? Or a good story?
(Of course, a book should have BOTH, but…)

Of course, a really good book has both, but if I had to sacrifice one for the other, I’d take average writing with an exciting and absorbing plot over an exquisitely written slice of dullsville.

I’ve enjoyed many competently written books where the riveting story has rattled along and kept me on the edge of my seat, but no matter how beautiful the writing is, if there is little to know plot, or if there’s a good plot but drawn out in such a way as to make it drag, then I’m afraid I’m not going to finish it, and it becomes a waste of my time and money.

Of course I’d prefer a winning combination of both elements, what reader in their right mind wouldn’t? But given the choise of only one, that’s my answer.

7 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Writing Or Riveting?

  1. I totally agree with you! Liked the way you phrased it:)

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Victoria

    Always a Booklover

  2. Love your wording – exquisitely written slice of dullsville! I so agree… story has to be great.

    Thanks for visiting ~ House Millar series

    Áine

  3. I agree. “Dullsville” – great phrase.

  4. I agreed with you, but no so eloquently.

    http://nerdbliss.com/wordpress/2012/01/26/rivet-me/

  5. Hello! Thanks for the visit to my blog!

    Your answer is the opposite of mine but I see your point. 🙂