Movie Review – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

Film: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
Released: 2011
Director: David Fincher
Stars: Daniel Craig, Rooney Mara, Christopher Plummer, Stellan Skarsgard, Robin Wright, Joely Richardson, Steven Berkoff, Julian Sands

Synopsis:
This English-language adaptation of the Swedish novel by Stieg Larsson follows a disgraced journalist, Mikael Blomkvist (Daniel Craig), as he investigates the disappearance of a wealthy patriarch’s niece from 40 years ago. He is aided by the pierced, tattooed, punk computer hacker named Lisbeth Salander (Rooney Mara). As they work together in the investigation, Blomkvist and Salander uncover immense corruption beyond anything they have ever imagined.

What I thought of it:
For once, I actually found the remake better than the original! (For the record, I watch and enjoy foreign language films on a semi-regular basis, so it wasn’t because it was a foreign film I disliked the original). This is far more cohesive and easier to follow, dwelling on things long enough so that their significance is established without overstaying their welcome and dragging things out. From the opening sequence (which is very Bond-esque in style, with women covered in dripping ink) this is a polished production which is more intense and watchable than its predecessor. The only problem I had was with the performance of the lead, Daniel Craig – every other cast member had a Swedish accent throughout, but he didn’t bother even trying, which I thought was a poor show and indicative of his limited ability. However, that’s my only quibble and I hope they will remake the other two films in the Millennium trilogy as I will certainly watch them.

My hubby’s review HERE.

Rating:
Posted Image

6 responses to “Movie Review – The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

  1. Pingback: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (2011) – A Review « Smurfin' The Web

  2. Hooray!
    I think it’s interesting that you found it better than the original – Before this one was released I’d heard soooooo many people just rave about the original film, and how they couldn’t understand why “we” had to “Americanize” a perfectly good movie. I want to see all 3 of the original films, but I’m in no hurry.
    I also find your comments re: Craig’s accent (or lack thereof) interesting as well. No one else I know has noticed or commented on it! I didn’t notice at first, but I think that’s probably because I love the way he sounds anyway…
    Anyway, I’m glad you liked it!
    Take care,
    Sunny@SunnyReads

    • I just couldn’t understand why he was the only one without an accent. Fair enough if they’d all abandoned the idea, but he was the only one and he was allowed to get away with it? WHY??? If everyone was required to use the accent and he couldn’t do it, then he shouldn’t have been given the role. At best I thought he was adequate, but nothing more and he absolutely paled to insignificance next to Rooney Mara who was brilliant.

  3. She REALLY was!

  4. Pingback: The Oscars 2012 | Diary of a Domestic Goddess

  5. Pingback: Movie Review – Let the Right One In / Låt den rätte komma in (2008) | Diary of a Domestic Goddess