Monday Memes

Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

Why do you think that the Young Adult genre is so popular, even with the adult readers? Do you read YA books, yourself?

I most certainly read young adult novels, in fact I’m a most ardent fan of them! The rich array of stories and characters, combined with some really excellent writing mean tha tif you don’t read them, you’re really missing out! I think all readers of young adult fiction realise this, and this is the reason we embrace it so wholeheartedly.

~***~

Cover Crazy

Hosted by The Book Worms

What I love:
It’s that old combination of black, red and white again – I just cannot resist it! In this case,  I also love the stylised art deco look of the cover with the cinematic title font. The eye is immediately drawn to the Empire State Building at the centre, yet it doesn’t overpower the cover as it’s set against a muted grey backdrop. Instead, the behatted figure with the gas mask and gun is more prominent, despite being to one side. Then there’s the figure in the target-like circle.

Synopsis:

It was the last great science hero fight, but the energy blast ripped a hole in reality, and birthed the Empire State – a young, twisted parallel prohibition-era New York. When the rift starts to close, both worlds are threatened, and both must fight for the right to exist.

~***~

It’s Monday,
What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge

Anne Frasier – Hush (E)
This Kindle e-book caught my eye and I thought I’d give it a try. I’m so glad I did! I’m now half way through and it’s so exciting! The writing is excellent and the plotting is tight. I’d never even heard of this author before, but now I’ll be looking out for more of her work to snap up!

Jackson Pearce – Sisters Red (S)
This is one of the books I bought with some of my Xmas money and I’ve been dying to get to it. The cover first grabbed my attention and positive reviews from fellow bloggers have made this a must-read. I’m just about to start it today…

5 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. Wow, you sure enjoying YA books and well that’s nice. Anyway, thanks for stopping by!

  2. I look forward to hearing what your thoughts are on Sisters Red. And Hush sounds really intriguing…I’ll be checking it out when I get the chance!

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  3. The cover crazy cover I haven’t seen before. I’m with you, the color scheme works well. Unfortunately its just to cartoon like for my tastes.

  4. I think many readers who don’t read much YA are often surprised to find out how well written they can be.

    🙂 Aeicha @ Word Spelunking