Booking Through Thursday – Skipping

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Do you skip ahead in a book?
Do you feel badly about it when you do?

I don’t tend to skip ahead in books unless I’m re-reading them and have come to a part of which I’m not so fond. I don’t do much rereading these days, so the skipping is reduced even further. On those rare occasions when I skip ahead, I don’t feel guilty or even remotely bad about it, because I’ve already read it at least once before. If I found myself skipping ahead on a first read, I’d be questioning whether I was actually enjoying the book. If the answer is negative, I ditch the whole book. If it’s positive, then I continue reading without skipping.

11 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Skipping

  1. i also don’t skip any chapters…unless i am re-reading too. After i finish with a book, i then can conclude which part i like and which part i dislike… and those are the parts i skip. lol but if it is a new book i do read it chapter by chapter no skipping.

  2. Skip or don’t skip, only you know so truly no need to feel guilty.

    Here’s my BTT ~ House Millar series

    Áine

  3. My example was about battle scenes…but I don’t usually read books with those kinds of themes. And then I might just skim.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  4. Very sensible approach! Mine is far less sensible I’m afraid haha, I’d love to skip (or ditch books) but I hate ditching, and feel guilty skipping!

  5. I don’t feel guilty about it, but I try not to do it. There are some times I’m invested enough to want to know how it all turns out but not enough to take the journey there.

  6. I don’t feel guilty either.
    Here’s Mine

  7. ditching sounds like a good idea in such cases!!! 🙂 Not that it’s that easy for me, on occasion….

    http://burgandyice.blogspot.com/2012/01/booking-through-thursday.html

  8. readytoreadthis

    Haha I find that i always turn to the back page to ‘find out how many pages the book has’ but feel my eyes drift towards the last paragraph.. I then feel bad and think ive ruined the book for myself.. although chances are the end never makes sense until i get there!

  9. Wow! It’s nice you don’t always do skipping. Anyway thanks for stopping by!

  10. Most rereading I do are the read-for-fun books and those I need/have to read. With you on your reason for ditching a whole book 🙂

    http://www.stasiadesiderata.com/2012/01/19/skipping-parts-of-books/