WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Philippa Gregory – The Women of the Cousins’ War
This non-fiction study of the three women portrayed in the Cousins’ War series is absolutely fascinating! I was aware that women have been marginalised throughout history, but I never stopped to think how those who did make it to the pages of the history books might have been so horrendously misrepresented. If you’re a fan of historical fiction, especially of the period of unrest known as the War of the Roses, irrespective of whether you are a fan of Gregory’s novels, I think you’ll find this interesting.

Patrick deWitt – The Sisters Brothers
I’m still not very far into this one, but I’m enjoying it rather a lot. Charlie and Eli are a bag of contradictions, both simple and complex at the same time, and Eli in particular has my interest firmly grabbed.

Anne Brontë – Agnes Grey (e-book)
I’m about a third of the way through and although I can’t say an awful lot has happened, it is certainly holding my interest. Agnes is rather a lovely character and I can’t help thinking I should have liked to be friends with Anne Brontë if Agnes is anywhere close to being true to her own character.

What did you recently finish reading?
Joss Stirling – Stealing Phoenix (e-book) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I picked this one up from Amazon Kindle free of charge and was pleased to find it was rather good. Having seen fellow bloggers raving about it, I tried not to get too hyped up, but I did enjoy it. The characters of Phoenix and Yves are easy to identify with, and the not-so-nice characters, although not really fleshed out as much as I would like (and with really dumb names – honestly, Dragon and Unicorn? Really?), they were suitably villainous and offered a pretty decent threat.

I’m not sure I enjoyed it enough to warrant going back and reading Finding Sky, but it was certainly an enjoyable enough way to pass a few hours.

Anna Katharine Green – X Y Z A Detective Story (e-book) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I downloaded this free from Amazon as it fit the A-Z challenge nicely for that ever-so-tricky “X” entry. I read a lot of crime fiction, both modern and classic, so I suppose that directly affected my enjoyment of this. It was plodding and predictable, and had it been any longer, I may well have not bothered finishing it. The idea is sound enough, but the execution is pedestrian and nothing special. As it is such a short story, the characters were not fleshed out much at all, leaving them barely two-dimensional, and the plot was thin at best. Rather disappointing, but at least it served its purpose and completed that hard-to-fill spot on my challenge.

Cody Young – The Lady and the Locksmith (e-book) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
Cody Young has a lightness of touch which makes for very easy reading. Her characters are all very human (even if they are romanticised), the plotting is perfectly paced and the settings sumptuous. This romance is all the sweeter for its short length, as all the passion of the gentle yet swift love affair is swept along at a breathtaking pace, taking the reader along for the ride. I’m not usually a fan of romances, but I do make an exception for this author, as I love her style so much.

Cody Young – Johnny Doesn’t Drink Champagne (e-book) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This has the singular distinction of being the only cross-genre novel I’ve come across which features vampires and time travel. Under normal circumstances, a vampire novel wouldn’t warrant a time travel element because vampires live, like, forever, but in this instance having that time slip makes it that little bit different and it really works.

Once again, we have Cody Young’s light touch and expert story telling, this time weaving the threads of historical and modern romance together, whilst tackling a 500 year old mystery that still confounds historians to this day, giving a plausible answer to one of the questions left unanswered since the War of the Roses. This has a universal appeal – really, anyone who likes anything to do with vampires, historical fiction and a little romance would do well to try this.

John H Carroll – The Emo Bunny That Should: A Story For Demented Children (e-book) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
A fun little tale of a depressed rabbit that inadvertently saves the day. It’s very short and should appeal to those who have a slightly dark or demented sense of humour. Which I do. Obviously.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Marissa Meyer – Cinder

Bought with my Xmas money after spotting it on several blogs with very favourable reviews. Dying to read it!

3 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. Several of those books sound very good…I’ll have to check them out further. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. The Sisters Brothers sounded interesting to me. I may have to check that one out!

    Wendy @ Escape Into Fiction

  3. I have Agnes Grey on my TBR list for the year; I’m glad to see someone enjoying it — gives me hope that I will too.
    Here’s my WWW for the week. Happy reading!