Teaser Tuesdays – Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

All true histories contain instruction; though, in some, the treasure may be hard to find, and when found, so trivial in quantity, that the dry, shrivelled kernel scarcely compensates for the trouble of cracking the nut. Whether this be the case with my history or not, I am hardly competent to judge.

– page 1, Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

Synopsis:
Drawing directly on her own unhappy experiences, Anne Brontë’s first-person narrative describes the almost unbelievable pressures endured by nineteenth-century governesses – the isolation, the frustration, and the insensitive and sometimes cruel treatment meted out by employers and their families. Distinguished by its sharp, often ironic observation of middle-class social behaviour, this deeply personal novel also touches on religious belief, moral responsibility, and individual integrity and its survival.

What I think of it so far:
I’m about a third of the way through and although I can’t say an awful lot has happened, it is certainly holding my interest. Agnes is rather a lovely character and I can’t help thinking I should have liked to be friends with Anne Brontë if Agnes is anywhere close to being true to her own character.

I’m actually reading this on my Kindle so the actual page number isn’t listed, but this quote is the opening lines of the novel, hence I’ve noted it as being the first page.

3 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

  1. I imagine anyone that insightful will be worth cracking the cover on.

  2. It’s truly a beautiful opening passage! Hope you continue to enjoy it!

  3. Pingback: Classics Challenge – January Prompt | Diary of a Domestic Goddess