Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Books I Read in 2011

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

My top ten favorite books I read in 2011 are:

  1. Frances Hodgson Burnett – A Little PrincessLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  2. Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret GardenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  3. Emma Donoghue – RoomLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  4. Cornelia Funke – InkheartLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  5. James Long – FerneyLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  6. John Boyne – Crippen (Transworld Book Group)Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  7. Stuart MacBride – Shatter the Bones (Logan McRae 7) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  8. Erin Morgenstern – The Night CircusLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  9. Simon Scarrow – The Legion (Romans 10) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
  10. Jeanne Kalogridis – The Borgia BrideLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven

Clicking on the links will take you to the posts where I have given brief reviews of each book.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Books I Read in 2011

  1. I’m so looking forward to reading Night Circus early next year.

  2. I found ROOM to be a very compelling story. It is really creepy to think about, though.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Please take a look at my new challenge to read the ALA YA Book Award winners for 2012.

    Anne@HeadFullofBooks.

  3. Room is awesome! I’ve read the first of the Logan McRae books and loved it and I bought 3 more recently but I’m missing some so I want to wait until I have them all and can read in order. And I’m desperate to read The Night Circus!

  4. I have a thing or The Secret Garden! As well as The Little Princess! I think everyone should read the classics. There is something is magical and pure about them. I’ve not read any of the other books on your list. I’lm going to check them out.

  5. I loved Room, too. My favorite fiction read of 2011.

    I’m off to visit every blog with a Top Ten of 2011 list and add all the intriguing titles to my (already very lengthy) wishlist at Amazon. Thanks for your list!

    Here’s my Top Ten Favorite Books I Read in 2011.

    • Room was such an unexpected one for me. I was given it as a gift last Christmas and wasn’t overly bothered about it before then. I would never have picked it up for myself. However, once I’d cracked it open, it was pretty much impossible to put down!

  6. Ooh, good call on Room! What an intensely surreal read!

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Michele | Top 10

  7. I read Inkheart a very long time ago, and although the actual book was excellent, its sequel left something to be desired. And I love your blog, by the way!

    PS: Don’t be frightened to flirt with my faves of 2011 here. Thanks!

  8. The Secret Garden and A Little Princess are two of my childhood favorites. I really loved reading and rereading them back in the day – kind of makes me want to read them all over again!

  9. What a fantastic list. Most of these I have wanted to read, and now I will have to look into the ones I haven’t heard of! I am looking forward to reading The Secret Garden this coming year!

  10. I have yet to read Inkheart. I started it in Middle school and couldn’t get into it. I need to try again now that I’m older I have heard its good!

  11. Another vote for The Night Circus! I have got to read this book. Great list. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

    ~Nikki @ Imaginative Adventure.

  12. I read The Secret Garden a few weeks ago for the first time. Wasn’t it great? I loved it so much… and made me feel like doing some garden work! Haha 🙂 And Room was just… it just left me speechless. Great list!