Teaser Tuesdays – Heretic by Sarah Singleton

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

If someone had peered into the tree trunk, while the child was in the shadow land, what would they have seen? A heap of dried leaves, perhaps shaped like a figure, and underneath, a dry bone or two – the link holding the child to the ordinary world.

– page 2, Heretic by Sarah Singleton

Synopsis:
When Elizabeth finds a green-tinged creature in the woods she’s amazed to discover that it’s actually a girl of her own age. Isabella has spent the last 300 years in the faery world, hiding from persecutors who accused her of being the daughter of a witch. Elizabeth has her own persecutors to face. A catholic priest is hiding in her home – an act of treason in 1586 – and the net is closing in. As they become friends, Elizabeth and Isabella must find a way to protect the family from being torn apart.

What I think of it so far:
I’ve literally just started this one and am only a few pages in, hence the teaser being from so early in the book, but so far I’m enjoying it. Singleton has an easy to read style that manages to be very descriptive but without using too many words – she’s concise and uses no more language than is absolutely necessary. If the other two books by her I’ve read and enjoyed are anything to go by, this one will be a similarly joyous read!

5 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – Heretic by Sarah Singleton

  1. This sounds kind of interesting–I think I’m going to look it up! (so thanks!)

    Hope you had a wonderful holiday! 😀
    My TT

  2. This sounds fascinating. I’ll be eager to hear what you think when you have finished it. I have a teaser from Winterling by Sarah Prinieas and from Magic Gifts by Ilona Andrews this week. Happy reading!

  3. Fascinating! Thanks for sharing….

    Here’s MY TT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. I enjoyed your teaser, as well as your brief description of the book. It sounds like something I’d enjoy reading.
    My teaser is here: http://iousex.blogspot.com/2011/12/teaser-tuesday-dec-27.html