Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

What’s one book you always recommend to just about anyone?

Just one? It really depends what kind of things they best like to read as I tend to tailor my recommendations to people. I can narrow it down to these though:

The Child Thief by Brom
I often wax lyrical about this particular novel (which has exquisite line drawings by the author/artist). It’s a dark re-imagining of the Peter Pan story and is, in my opinion, far better that the original, but definitely not for children. If the cover alone isn’t enough to attract you, then the fact that it’s the book I most consistently rave about should tell you it’s something special!

Bitten by Kelley Armstrong
Anyone who’s into paranormal fiction but likes their heroines strong and feisty and, well, real, should read the Women of the Otherworld series, starting with this book. Elena Michaels (the world’s only female werewolf) isn’t the type to let her love life get the better of her, even if things go wrong (unlike other, more recent “heroines” of paranormal sagas). No, this is one gutsy woman who can stand on her own two feet, but knows when family are important too.

Room by Emma Donoghue
I received this as a Xmas gift and read it this year. I was, quite simply, blown away by it. It’s rare I come across such a wholly engrossing novel as this – I literally couldn’t put it down and read late into the night till I was so tired I was falling asleep and physically unable to continue – I still fought the exhaustion and tried to continue! It’s so beautifully written – utterly claustrophobic and poignant.  Read it and weep – I know I did!

So, those are the books that, right now, I would recommend to pretty much anyone who cared to ask my opinion.

5 responses to “Musing Mondays

  1. I think I’ve never heard about any of these (except of course The Child Thief, since you’ve mentioned it earlier), thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

  2. I love the Women of the Otherworld series! Clay and Elena’s stories are my favorite

  3. Room looks interesting! I’ll take a look at it on Goodreads, it looks like my cup of tea (:

  4. Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Good recommendations. Thanks for sharing!