Movie Mondays – Snorefest

Share your movie picks on your blog and visit your fellow Monday Movie Meme participants to read what they are offering up. Remember and link back to Nicole at Madlab Post.

This week’s theme is…
Boring Movies

My lovely hubby has already mentioned two snoozefests that would have featured on my list – The Thin Red Line (or “Too Many Excellent Actors Spoil the Plot”) and Melancholia (or “Pretentious Wank In Two Acts”), so I’ll add a third to the mix…

My nomination for the Movie  I Most Wish I Hadn’t Bothered Seeing And Am Incredibly Glad I Saw It For Free Or I Would Have Gone Postal On The Unsuspecting Cinema Staff Award goes to…

*drum roll please*

The House Of Mirth

It was a film that should have been wonderful. With Gillian Anderson, Dan Ackroyd (in a serious role!), Anthony LaPaglia and Eric Stoltz, it was a more than decent cast that promised solid performances. The source material was the classic novel of the same name by Edith Wharton, and should have been rich with subtext.

What I got was 140 minutes of tedious, bland, non-sensical nothingness. The actors seemed to sleepwalk their way through a poorly written script and nothing happened. At all. Ever. More than two hours of my life that I will never get back. At all. Ever. I swear, if I hadn’t seen it gratis (I worked at the cinema at the time) I would have been forced to kill every member of staff that had a hand in taking money from me to see such pap.

I usually love period costume dramas, but this one was just dire. I will now never read the book and if I am ever forced into a room where this movie is playing, I will tear down the walls to escape it.

One response to “Movie Mondays – Snorefest

  1. It’s such a disappointment when movies have a great cast and material but the finished products doesn’t live up to it’s potential. An old friend of mine felt the same way about “Syriana,” which has George Clooney, Matt Damon and some other heavyweights in the cast. I love this post of yours for this week’s meme — “My nomination for the Movie I Most Wish I Hadn’t Bothered Seeing And Am Incredibly Glad I Saw It For Free Or I Would Have Gone Postal On The Unsuspecting Cinema Staff Award goes to…” — hilariously genius!