Booking Through Thursday – Character Or Plot?

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What’s more important to you? Real, three-dimensional, fleshed-out fascinating characters? Or an amazing, page-turning plot?

(Yes, I know, they are both important. But if you had to pick one as being more important than the other?)

It really depends what kind of mood I’m in. If I fancy an in-depth chunker of a book where I really spend a lot of time with it, then I want characters that really come to life, where I know everything about them and really care deeply about them. These are the books that, when I’m finished, I know I’ll read them again at some point in the future, and it will feel like visiting old friends.

Other times, when I don’t have much time to devote to reading, I love a plot that really zips along, grabbing me by the seat of my pants and making my heart race as I’m dragged along for the ride, screaming, “Woooohooooo!” These are the ones I’ll read again when I’m feeling down in the dumps and need an energy boost.

Once in a while, I get a little of both in the same novel and it makes my heart sing!

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Character Or Plot?

  1. Wow, that’s great. Anyway, thanks for dropping by! 🙂

  2. A good story is always going to be the best since it can boost mediocre characters. However, I have to go with a good, strong cast of characters…or even one character. The story may be bland, but if you have a strong character then there will always be more stories to have.

  3. As I read others answers to this question, it gets more and more difficult to agree with my own answer. I think really for it to be a good book it needs both. But we were to choose one answer. Maybe next week I would choose the amazing characters. But this week I went with a page turning plot.

  4. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  5. jerikavonalexandra

    You made some very interesting points in your post! 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by my blog!

  6. Great answer, thanks for stopping by. You know what I was just thinking about sometimes in life you have really great characters – but their life is not all that plot worthiness to keep you going but they make you want to keep watching them because they are that great.