Movie Mondays – Festive Films

Share your movie picks on your blog and visit your fellow Monday Movie Meme participants to read what they are offering up. Remember and link back to Dale at Smurfin’ the Web.

This week’s theme is… Christmas Films

Well, Dale kicked things off with three of my favourite festive films, so I’ll have to go with some others. Actually, I’m not going to choose my favourites because I have a meme coming up – Kell’s Twelve Movies of Christmas (starting on 14th December). So here are some of the ones that didn’t make it onto my list…

White Christmas (1954) sees the perfect pairing of Bing Crosby and Danny Kay as a post-WWII song and dance act and end up falling in love – no, not with each other, this is the 50s! They fall for Rosemary Clooney and Vera Ellen. And, of course, it features that now iconic and classic titular song. No festive season would be complete without Crosby crooning White Christmas at a piano – it just makes Christmas!

My second choice is actually three in one, as there are three versions of it. Miracle on 34th Street was originally made in 1947, starring Edmund Gwenn as Kris Kringle. It was then remade in 1973 as a TV movie, with Sebastian Cabot as the jolly fat man in red and Roddy McDowall as the psychiatrist, Dr Henry Sawyer. More recently it was remade again, for cinema this time, with Richard Attenborough making a particularly convincing Mr Kringle, in 1994. This version also boasted JT Walsh, Dylan McDermott and Elizabeth Perkins and depending on how you feel about remakes, it does its best to be a fitting rival to the original.

Don’t forget to check back to see the countdown of my favourite festive films in Kell’s Twelve Movies of Christmas, starting on 14th December!

2 responses to “Movie Mondays – Festive Films

  1. aww it’s been ages since I’ve seen Miracle on 34th Street! Though I think I’ve only seen the 1994 version. Is it sad that I can only think of The Santa Clause right now as my favourite? 😛

  2. I have yet to see Miracle on 34th Street, in any version. One of them might be sitting somewhere on my Netflix list, though. While I’ve heard of White Christmas though, I’ve never been too interested in watching it. The love story angle and piano crooning may get me to change my mind one day though!