Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

How many books do you read in a week? Month? Year?

Before I had Xander, I read, on average, anything between 125 and 150 books each year, so that worked out at around 2.5-3 books each week or 10.5-12.5 books each month.

Since becoming a Mummy, my reading has dropped dramatically and initially I was reading only about a third of that, but so far this year I’ve finished 80 books (with still a few weeks to go), so that works out at around 7 each month or 1.5 each week.

It’s a big drop from my pre-Mummy days,  but it’s an improvement on the last couple of years when I hit 58 (2010), 52 (2009) and 58 (2008). I’m sure next year I’ll read even more again (unless I have another baby!).

9 responses to “Musing Mondays

  1. Wow. Still, that’s a lot of books! Thanks for stopping by reading mine. Much appreciated. 🙂

  2. You’ll probably read more when you child gets older! That’s how it was with my friend, from when her son was born until now, he’s 2 she hasn’t been reading nearly as much as she use to.

  3. That’s a lot of books! Thanks for coming by and visiting my blog. Hope you have a good day 🙂

  4. I’m happy that my daughter’s already 4 years old, she’s more independent and I can actually read sometimes even when she’s awake! 🙂

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

  5. Great answer! It’s tough trying to really figure out how much we read when it changes so often. My number definitely fluctuates! 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/12/musing-mondays-and-reckoning-by-lili-st.html

  6. Haha. Yes, I’m sure having a kid cuts into your reading time! Do you ever read to Xander?

    Here’s my MM: http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/musing-monday-how-much-do-you-read/

    🙂

    • All the time – he’s only 3-y-o and he’s as much of a bookworm as iam – LOL! Seriously, he has a deep three-shelf bookcase in his room which is crammed full of books – double shelved in some places! 🙂 He als oenjoyed going to the library regularly…

  7. That’s still a lot of reading and I can imagine that it’s hard to read as much when there is a little kid who depends on you. But still that’s a lot of books.

    http://danicapage.blogspot.com/2011/12/musing-monday-7.html

    Have a great day!

  8. I REALLY hope to read more books in 2012. I’m going to cut way back on computer time and start being WAY more selective of what I read.