Movie Monday – Payback’s a B*tch!

Share your movie picks on your blog and visit your fellow Monday Movie Meme participants to read what they are offering up. Remember and link back to Nicole at Madlab Post.

This week’s topic is…
Memorable payback movies

This theme is great news for me, because one of my favourite novels of all time, which has been adapted to two of my favourite films fits it perfectly. The novel is Les Liaisons Dangereuses, and the films are Dangerous Liaisons (1988) and Valmont (1989).

Both feature superb casts and brilliant performances (with the exceptions of Keanu “Ted Theodore Logan” Reeves in the former and Meg Tilly in the latter). Quite frankly, it’s almost impossible to make a bad job of it when the source material is so epic, so exquisitely wonderful. The characters are all caught in an ever-decreasing circle of sexual deceit and revenge which, in my personal opinion, perfection. Seriously – watch them both and read the book too – you’ll be enthralled, charmed and shocked all at once!

And another of my favourite book-and-film combinations (isn’t this just too good to be true!) is also big on the theme of revenge. The Princess Bride is a swashbuckling-action-adventure-fantasy-fairytale extravaganza. It’s heavy on the humour and manages to laugh at itself right along with the audience. This really is a star-studded movie starring Billy Crystal, Peter Falk, Chris Sarandon, Mandy Patinkin, Robin Wright, Carey Elwes, Christopher Guest, Peter Cook, Mel Smith, Andre the giant… Do I really need to go on?

Oh, and Fred Savage is in it too – back when he was still a cute kid.

It is an example of cinematic perfection adapted from a work of pure genius. Again, watch it, read it, and fall completely in love with it. I guarantee you’ll enjoy them more than once!

4 responses to “Movie Monday – Payback’s a B*tch!

  1. I love The Princess Bride! My nephews and I used to have nearly the entire movie memorized, and drove all the adults in the house crazy with our endless repetitions.
    “No more rhymes now, I mean it!”
    “Anybody want a peanut?”

  2. I watched The Princess Bride a few years ago after someone recommended it to me. It was quite funny. While I heard of Dangerous Liaisons, I never took the time to check it out but I’m not familiar with Valmont at all. What a stab you took at Fred Savage. It’s such a shame how some child stars transform in the eyes of audiences….some people say the same thing about that kid from the Terminator. I forgot what his real name is.